Occupational Hazard!

Posted: February 12, 2013 in Wandering Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Dealing with disappointment may be just that, an occupational hazard. Disappointment is the feeling of dissatisfaction that follows the failure of my expectations or hopes to be seen. It’s different than regret, in that feeling regret i focus primarily on my personal choices that contributed to a poor outcome, while when i am feeling disappointment i am focusing on the outcome itself.

i decided to investigate what i could do to, better deal with my disappointment. The following are some loosely shared thoughts. Part of todays post is for the simple and selfish purpose of clearing my mind of disappointment. i’ll call it controlled venting? i promise not to bore anyone by sharing the details of my disappointment.

Accept that I don’t understand everything.

Isaiah 55:8-9 For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.

How about the idea of hanging on to what i do understand in my times of disappointment. This may help me to not feel so out of control.

Psalm 130:5 I wait for the Lord, I expectantly wait, and in His word do I hope.

The word says that, “Hope deferred makes my heart-sick.”

If i remain disappointed, i will  have made a judgment about the alternative.

Hebrews 10:23 So let us seize and hold fast and retain without wavering the hope we cherish and confess and our acknowledgement of it, for He Who promised is reliable (sure) and faithful to His word.

Be honest with God

Get before the face of God and be real about the condition of my heart. Take the time to tell Him the truth about where I am. It’s not about form and function, saying things that I think God wants to hear. It’s not about accusation or bitterness.

1 Peter 5:7 Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully.

Stay in this place – however long it takes

Until the peace that passes understanding starts to invade my heart.

2 Corinthians 4:8-9 We are hedged in (pressed) on every side [troubled and oppressed in every way], but not cramped or crushed; we suffer embarrassments and are perplexed and unable to find a way out, but not driven to despair; We are pursued (persecuted and hard driven), but not deserted [to stand alone]; we are struck down to the ground, but never struck out and destroyed;

Find my voice in the Psalms.

Stay until the resolution comes to you as it did to the writer.

Suggested Psalms are: Psalm 6; 11; 13; 18; 22; 27; 28; 31; 42; 44; 51; 60; 61; 69; 73; 74; 77; 86; 88; 102; 116; 130; 142; 143

i can’t say that any of this will help but it does help to share and consider the option versus wallowing in the disappointment. And one last thought is that i can not lie about my disappointment either hoping for it to go away. Recognize it, accept it for what it is, learn from it, AND GET OVER IT!

i considered calling this post “I’m not okay, you’re not okay, but that’s okay! And the truth is, it is okay, to not be okay 100% of the time. Disappointment is an occupational hazard of life. i try to avoid it but not always successfully. BUT THAT’S OKAY!

Comments
  1. pucksblade says:

    Speaking as someone who has certainly disappointed myself in the last couple hours, I must say these comments are timely. I was having the conversation with myself that my mistakes don’t define me or change who I am in any way. You have reminded me that though something old can sneak up behind to trip me, it only serves to remind me of my gossiping weakness and how I need Him to walk this earth with any kind of faith or integrity. Without Him we are only poor, simple human beings struggling through the broken reality around us with no clue on how to navigate it without killing ourselves and everyone else. Use this self-dissappointment

    • pucksblade says:

      For what it is – a reminder that our righteousness is from Christ alone, and without His constant support I am utterly human. “Humble yourself in the sight of the Lord, and He shall lift you up.”
      Lord, I am humbled before You and my great need for Your constant intervention on my behalf. Thank You that my righteousness depends only on You and Your great mercy, not on my faulty ability to stand. Where I am weak, You are strong. Thank You For lifting me up with Your love when I fall in my weakness.

    • pucksblade says:

      Sorry, it should have said “great weakness”, not gossiping weakness. Freudian slip? LOL

  2. Ann Marie says:

    I had a sign in my office for a long time. It said Ann Marie’s counseling strategy:
    ADMIT IT
    QUIT IT
    FORGET IT
    Sounds simply but in reality sometimes those 3 easy steps is what is necessary. We tend to try to complicate things or THINK we NEED to have ALL the answers to move on…..NOT!

Leave a Reply

