Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda… Angry Regret

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda
Tags: , , , , , ,

Every once in a while i come across some suppossed factual information regarding the topic i am posting on. i meant to share this when i was specifically sharing about regret, but somehow i missed posting it so before i get to far away from the topic i thought i’d share it today.

Do Men and Women Differ in The Things They Regret?

Studies on gender differences in regret show the increased value that women put on relationships and how women have more difficulty disengaging attention from past relationships. Overall, 44% of women surveyed had romantic regrets, versus just 19% of men. This result may also reflect men’s greater tendency to replace lost relationships quickly with new partners. In this study, those not in a current relationship, understandably, had more regret over past ones.

Do People Living in the U.S. Experience Regret More Than in Other Cultures?

Research studies have compared the experience of regret in cultures such as the U.S., where individuals have more choice over their life’s course, versus in cultures with arranged marriages, where family have much more control over life choices. Not surprisingly, regret is much more commonly experienced and reported to have more positive aspects by young people in the U.S. People in collectivist cultures, which deemphasize individual choice, have less of a basis for blaming themselves for negative outcomes. They had no other choice, so they may as well accept the situation and make the best of it.

Do People Experience More Regret When They Look Back Over Long Periods?

Other research has compared regret over different time periods. Over short time periods, people are more likely to regret actions taken and mistakes made, whereas over long time periods, they are more likely to regret actions not taken, such as missed opportunities for love or working too hard and not spending enough time with family

There is a web site dedicated to people who want to share their regrets. This is one of many, which all have the same tone and sentiments. All i can say is that i never want to be in that place and if i ever am i want it to be as short a time as possible. Oh, and i don’t want to be at the other end of anyone with this type of regret.

“I regret not being skinny or pretty enough for you. I regret that every time we are together I just wish you would kiss me the way you do in my dreams. I regret every time you say we are best friends, because all I want is to marry you and have your children. I regret every time you text me, I get excited and I regret every time you invite me to hang out. I regret working next to you every day because just seeing makes my heart hut. But most of all I regret the first time you asked me to a baseball game and we started our friendship because had you never done that I wouldn’t live every day of my life wishing you were mine but knowing you don’t want me like that, so I have to wear a mask and pretend I want you to have a girlfriend and that I’m happy as your best friend.

First, Please forgive me for every malicious thing I am going to write, because I genuinely… Hate You…

I regret ever meeting you and letting you into my life. I regret letting you treat me like a doormat and a disposable piece of trash. I regret the years of tears wasted on someone that emotionally manipulative and so selfish….

I regret you never being hit by a car… I regret that no woman has ever put you in your place… I regret that you mother and father decided to come together and create you… The world would be a better place if you were never born… I regret that you were never raised to respect people, especially women… And at the end of the day…

If you were lying in the middle of the road dying and I was the only person able to help… I’d walk over your body, spit in your face and finish the job.”

Let me close with this thought, “Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret.”

Comments
  1. meandiam says:

    Have you entered an ALTERNATE UNIVERSE today? What’s the point of all this? I know you disavowed it in your comments, but why post something like this without scripture to refute it? Love you still, but curious….

Leave a Reply

