Issachar… Get Up!

Posted: March 6, 2013 in Issachar
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

i am one of those people who would say, “This could never happen to me. i do not participate or accept these new ground rules.” Mistake, because the storm has increased and has much larger boundaries. In years past the problem was not as evident in general society as it was among young college age people.

Currently, however, these new ground rules are rapidly spreading through our whole culture. The masses of people are now receiving it without even being aware of the fact. It comes in the things that i read, in the programs that i see and hear on TV, in magazines and books and in the constant bombardment of advertising.

It may be said that modern man is living in a mood of despair. By this i mean that there is no longer the sense of hope that life can have meaning and a sense of purpose. There is a battle, despair on one side and hope on the other and the winner will be the one i feed the most.

One non Christian thinker expressed it this way: “Man is placed in an infinite space in which his being seems to be a single and vanishing point. He is surrounded by a mute universe, by a world that is silent to his religious feelings and to his deepest moral demands.”  i am not surrounded by a mute universe, the heavens declare the glory of God and the firmament shows His handiwork (Ps. 19).

i may learn to understand the times but as for accepting it… thats where i’ll struggle. How do i accept what i do not believe, like, enjoy or want? That must be it! i am outside the “eye of the storm” and the winds are tossing me to and fro. If this were a physical storm i would have evacuated when they issued the warning, but this is spiritual, so i don’t see an evacuation plan. i see only two options. One is to get back into the eye of the storm as quickly as possible, conform to the new ground rules and ride it out. The second option is to stay out of the “eye” and hunker down with the original set of ground rules. Psalm 119 comes to mind Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are the undefiled (the upright, truly sincere, and blameless) in the way [of the revealed will of God], who walk (order their conduct and conversation) in the law of the Lord (the whole of God’s revealed will). Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are they who keep His testimonies, and who seek, inquire for and of Him and crave Him with the whole heart. Yes, they do no unrighteousness [no willful wandering from His precepts]; they walk in His ways. You have commanded us to keep Your precepts, that we should observe them diligently.

The sad fact is that whether in the “eye” or out of the “eye” the story or i should say the challenge is the same. Both environments are adjusting to the new ground rules. Christianity has become only slightly different than non-Chritianity. The words of Paul that i am to live my life SO IN CONTRAST fall on deaf ears. i often do not realize the extent to which i am being brought into conformity with these new ground rules.

David’s words say all of what i’m trying to say a whole lot better. “Listen while I build my case, God, the most honest prayer you’ll ever hear. Show the world I’m innocent— in your heart you know I am. Go ahead, examine me from inside out, surprise me in the middle of the night— You’ll find I’m just what I say I am. My words don’t run loose. I’m not trying to get my way in the world’s way. I’m trying to get your way, your Word’s way. I’m staying on your trail; I’m putting one foot in front of the other. I’m not giving up. I call to you, God, because I’m sure of an answer. So—answer! bend your ear! listen sharp! Paint grace-graffiti on the fences; take in your frightened children who are running from the neighborhood bullies straight to you. Keep your eye on me; hide me under your cool wing feathers from the wicked who are out to get me, from mortal enemies closing in.

He goes on for a few more verses and closes in verse 15 with this, And me? I plan on looking you full in the face. When I get up, I’ll see your full stature and live heaven on earth.

Leave a Reply

