Which is it… Sufficient or Not?

Posted: March 12, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

i want to use current events to my advantage as Ann Marie and i move toward a new season in our lives. The title leaves the question open… “Sufficient or Not” but there is no doubt in my mind that He is more than sufficient. What’s left now is for my words and actions to demonstrate it daily and not just normally but abnormally. TRANSFORMED!! Understanding the times and using current events can lead me away from something just as well as toward something.

PREPARATION: It is my opinion that Colossians is one of the most Christ-centered books of the Bible.  Paul stresses the extreme benefits in my life “If” i am in Christ.  Paul also expresses the completeness and fullness of the salvation He (Christ) provides.  It is my understanding from Paul’s writing that Christ, the Lord of creation and Head of the body which is His church,  is completely sufficient for every spiritual and practical need of my life “If” i am His. Joining with Christ in His death,  resurrection,  and exaltation is the foundation upon which my earthly life must be built.  Relationships inside and outside my home demonstrate daily the transformation or lack of… that faith in Jesus Christ which makes my walk as a disciple.

While the book of Ephesians focuses on the Body, Colossians focuses on the Head. Like Ephesians, the little Book of Colossians divides nicely in half with the first portion doctrinal (chapters 1-2) and the second practical (chapters 3-4)Paul’s purpose is to show that Christ is preeminent – first and foremost in everything – and my life should reflect that priority.  Because i am rooted in Him,  alive with Him,  hidden in Him,  and complete in Him,  it is completely inconsistent for me to live life without Him.  Clothed in His love, with His peace ruling in my heart,  i am equipped to make Christ first in every area of my life.

my life as a disciple is complete in Him alone and lacks nothing because “in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily” (2:9);  He has “all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge” (2:3).  And i am in Him, made full and having come to fullness of life in Christ i too am filled with the Godhead—Father, Son and Holy Spirit—and reach full spiritual stature. There is no need for speculation, mystical visions, or ritualistic regulations as though faith in Christ is insufficient.

Paul wrote Colossians to encourage the Colossians and now years later me to “continue in the faith,  grounded and steadfast(1:23) so that i will grow and bear fruit in the knowledge of Christ (1:10)Committment and obedience to the true word will give me stability and resistance to opposing influences.  The supremacy of Christ is one side of the coin – submission to Christ is the other.  my position in Him (3:1-4) or not… will or won’t provide the basis and power for a transformed life in every area.

Comments
  1. cwthorn says:

    Now this is the Ed I know and we all love.

    Wayne

  2. prayerandducttape says:

    What is the “current event?” Did I miss something? Otherwise, I agree. HE is the HEAD. We follow Him and we are blessed and unstoppable. We follow self…messed up

Leave a Reply

