Bend It Twist It – Misuse It, Abuse It

Posted: March 20, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
i can bend it and twist it.. i can misuse and abuse it.. But even God cannot change the Truth.

Verse 2 – And set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth.

The higher things…  rich, eternal treasures.”  i assure you that walking around setting my mind on the words “rich, eternal treasures,” will not get what i think the author intended for me.

Philippians 4:8 lays out what the higher things, the rich, eternal treasurs look like. “Finally, ed, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, (here’s that word “If again”) if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate (set your mind and keep it set.) on these things.”

Not these posts but my application of the information within these posts lines up with Matthew 6: 20 “ed lay up for yourself treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal.”

The first rich, eternal treasure, the higher things is…

Whatsoever things are true – I like Paul believed there were certain things that were true, and pure, and good, in the world, which were commonly regarded as such by the people of the world, and his purpose was to show that such things are to be exhibited in my words and actions. Everything that is honest and just toward God and toward people is to be practiced by me, i am in all things to be an example of the highest kind of morality. It is not acceptable for me to exhibit partial virtues: not to perform one set of duties to the neglect others; not to be faithful in my duties to God, and to neglect my duties to people, not to be punctual in my spiritual practices, and neglectful of the laws of morality; but i am to do everything that can be seen as the highest of moral character.

John 14:16 says that my Father “gave me a Counselor to be with me forever – the Spirit of truth… [He] will teach me all things.” – Jesus Christ.

The consequence of this now, not by way of merit, but by way of grace, is the enjoyment of the rich treasures of eternal glory:

True: not false, real, genuine; authentic, sincere; not deceitful, firm in allegiance, faithful, steadfast, being or reflecting the essential or genuine character of something.

i am to be true, genuine to my promises; true. sincere in my statements; and true, faithful in my friendships. i am to maintain, be steadfast to the truth about God; about eternity; about the judgment; and about every man’s character. If i am a man who is false to my statements and promises, i will always disgrace God.

“ed, set your mind and keep it set on, whatsoever things are true.”

In the absense of truth, power is the only game in town.

Comments
  1. meandiam says:

    Yes Ed! He is the TRUTH. I can follow Him!

Leave a Reply

