Nobody Came…

Posted: March 22, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night on one of the shows i was watching there was a disagreement between on soldier and the government. After some time of argument the government man told the soldier, “You do not get to determine what is just that is the job of the government and we will tell you what is or is not just.

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, (here’s that word “If again”) if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

Justice is truth in action. – Benjamin Disraeli

Just: guided by truth, reason, justice, and fairness, done or made according to principle, equitable, proper, lawful, in keeping with truth or fact, true, correct, given or awarded rightly; deserved.

Done or made according to principle. The problem with that definition is that it does not say according to God’s principles and thus i can get a very skewed definition of justice. If i don’t know the principles… how am i going to “Act like it?”

Psalm 146:7 – 9 Who executes justice for the oppressed, Who gives food to the hungry. The Lord sets free the prisoners, the Lord opens the eyes of the blind, the Lord lifts up those who are bowed down, the Lord loves the [uncompromisingly] righteous (those upright in heart and in right standing with Him). The Lord protects and preserves the strangers and temporary residents, He upholds the fatherless and the widow and sets them upright, but the way of the wicked He makes crooked (turns upside down and brings to ruin).

Whatsoever things are just – my discipleship in Christ does not exempt me from the laws which hold me to exercising this virtue. There is no way by which i as a disciple can do more injury perhaps than by injustice and dishonesty in my dealings. It is good for me to remember that the people of the world, in estimating my character, apply more importance to the virtues of justice and honesty than they do to regularity in observing the ordinances of church or religion. Therefore if i as a disciple am to make an impression on others favorable to God, it is required that i be uncorrupted in my dealings.

As a child, Alice Gahana survived two concentration camps during the Holocaust… an amazing feat, indeed! Asked what she remembered most, she replied, “The empty windows.” German soldiers came to her little village when she was nine years old and told her family to come to the village square. “I walked that morning carrying my suitcase, down our cobble-stoned street—the street that I had walked all my life… But as I walked down the street, I noticed the windows were empty. No one came to the windows. My friends and neighbors knew what was happening… but… Nobody came to the windows to see what was happening to me.” To be left alone in this world is the most horrible of all plights. To feel as if no one cares about us, can be like hell itself! To be separated from any sort of love was even worse than the pain and torture of a concentration camp itself!!!

RABBIT TRAIL: Nothing about Alice’s experience were just, but what stood out to me were the empty windows. It made me question what i would do and i’d like to say that i’d do something, but how do i know until i am in that place unless it is engrained in me as Paul in Colossians 3 is trying to teach me. Relationships are everything and thus far each of these words of virtue that i am to set and keep my mind on are all about relationship, with God, myself and others.

There is little or no chance of my days of being guided by truth “if” i am of this world. Colossians 3:1 – But “If” then i have been raised with Christ [to a new life, thus sharing His resurrection from the dead], aim at and seek the [rich, eternal treasures] that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Things being done according to God principles can easily become skewed when based on a persons perspective of God’s truth. Lawful is now a relevant term based on men’s interpretation of the law. But for me these things are not be an excuse for my unjust behavior, for dishonest words and unloving actions.

In closing i ask for pray as i have just finished my first five hours of dental work done this morning. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

