Foreign and Inappropriate?

Posted: March 25, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By reading the scriptures I am so renewed that all nature seems renewed around me and with me. The sky seems to be a pure, a cooler blue, the trees a deeper green. The whole world is charged with the glory of God and I feel fire and music under my feet. Thomas Merton

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, (here’s that word “If again”) if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

Whatsoever things are pure – in thought, in feeling, and in the conversation between the sexes.

Pure: free from anything of a different, inferior, or contaminating kind, free from foreign or inappropriate elements, clear, free from blemishes:

Free from foreign or inappropriate elements is exactly what Colossians 3:1 was saying! It’s the “IF.” A life raised with Christ is and must stay free from foreign or inappropriate elements., PURE! And there is grace… as misused as it is.

Rabbit Trail: God owes me nothing! i do not deserve grace. i am not even able to say that i am the cause of my relationship with God. The word states that “all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.” (Rom. 6:23) The Holy Spirit convicts me of my sin because it seperates. The obstical is sin. The offer of forgiveness is grace.

Back to pure. As a father came home from his work he saw his little girl who had been playing in the mud. He said to her, “My, you’re pretty dirty.”  She replied, “Yes, I know daddy, but I’m prettier clean.”

Cleanliness is next to what?  Godliness.  Where is that in the Bible?  It’s not.  It’s a nice thought but it’s not in scripture.

The Word says in Matthew 5:8 “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.”  If i am pure in heart it will be the result of being near to God.  In 1 John 3:3 “Everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as he is pure.”

This story illustrates a better idea of being pure. The distinguished pastor of the Brick Presbyterian Church in New York, Dr. Maltbie Babcock was approached by a physician, a member of his congregation, who was concerned about his health.  Handing Dr. Babcock some theater tickets he said, “Take these.  You need the recreation of going to this play.”

His pastor looked at them.  Seeing they were tickets to a play of the kind he could not conscientiously attend, he said kindly, “Thank you, but I can’t take them.  I can’t go.”  “Why not?” the physician asked.

“Doctor, it’s this way.  You’re a physician; a surgeon, in fact. When you operate, you scrub your hands meticulously until you are very clean.  You wouldn’t dare operate with dirty hands.  I’m a servant of Christ.  I deal with precious human souls.  I wouldn’t dare to do my service with a dirty life.”

These virtues, true, honest, just, pure, are to be lived out through my entire life as Philippians 2:12 says, “Therefore, ed my dear friend, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling.”

i am sure i do not care for these words from A. W. Tozer, “The man that believes will obey; failure to obey is convincing proof that there is no true faith present.  To attempt the impossible God must give faith or there will be none, and He gives faith to the obedient heart only.”

George McDonald said, “I find the doing of the will of God leaves me no time for disputing about His plans.”

Comments
  1. pucksblade says:

    Wow. No wiggle room there!

Leave a Reply

