Ineffective, Inactive, Habitually…

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

“The scariest thought in the world is that someday I’ll wake up and realize I’ve been sleepwalking through my life: underappreciating the people I love, making the same hurtful mistakes over and over, a slave to neuroses, fear, and the habitual.” – George Saunders

i’m back to Colossians 3 now, with clear understanding, and a good starting place, for the things i need in my mind. The task is to not let those things become something i learned and then they slip away due to the next latest greatest word.

Colossians 3:3 (AMP) For [as far as this world is concerned] ed has died, and my [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God.

Colossians 3:3 (MSG) ed’s old life is dead. ed’s new life, which is his real life—even though invisible to spectators—is with Christ in God. He is my life.

i made mention of the “Grace” factor last week, i think? Romans 6:1-7 What shall i say [to all this]? Am i to remain in sin in order that God’s grace (favor and mercy) may multiply and overflow? Certainly not! When i read this, it sounds like an absolutely ridiculous idea, yet some times it would appear as that’s exactly what i am doing.

How can i who died to sin live in it any longer? What a great question. How can i? The only explanation i came up with was that i was addicted to it, sin that is. BUT… as i continue in this study i am not sure that addiction is the proper answer?

The closing words of Romans 6:7 could have been startling if i weren’t somewhat prepared for it by studying Colossians 3. Am i ignorant of the fact that i who has been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? i was buried therefore with Him by the baptism into death, so that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious [power] of the Father, so i too might [habitually] live and behave in newness of life.

For “IF” i have become one with Him by sharing a death like His, i shall also be [one with Him in sharing] His resurrection [by a new life lived for God].

i know that my old (unrenewed) self was nailed to the cross with Him in order that [my] body [which is the instrument] of sin might be made ineffective and inactive for evil, that i might no longer be the slave of sin. For when ed died, he was freed (loosed, delivered) from [the power of] sin [among men]. Thus my dilemma. Nailed to a cross, made ineffective and inactive, no longer a slave or an addict of sin!

Eternal life is a jewel or treasure, which is stored up with Christ. It is safely deposited. It has security, and nothing can reach it or take it away. It is not left with me, or intrusted to my keeping – because if it were it might be lost, or it might be taken from me, or i might be defrauded of it, but it is now laid up far out of my sight, and far from the reach of all my enemies, and with one who can “keep that which i have committed to Him against that day;” 2 Timothy 1:12.

For i am dead – Dead to the world; dead to sin; dead to earthly pleasures. i know that’s what the word says but for me it seems like i’m not there yet, but i am in the process of a slow death. The idea of the apostle is, that as Christ became literally dead in the tomb, so i, in light of my connection with Him, have become dead to sin, to worldly influences, pleasures, and ambition. They are to have no more influence over me than the things of earth had over Him in the grave. Dead is dead, there is no partially dead… right? It feels to me like a slow death but… no word supporting that.

Comments
  1. gratis sex says:

    Hello u have a interesting website. I wanna say thanks for posting this cool information with us. Keep up this great work!

  2. cam sex says:

    Thanks for publicing this fantastic information. Keep up the great job. I’ll subscribe to your blog also. thnx!

  3. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  4. This post is in fact a good one it helps new net visitors,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  5. As the admin of this web page is working, no doubt
    very soon it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

Leave a Reply

