Communion, Conformity, His Glory!

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Colossians 3:4 When Christ, Who is my life, appears, then i also will appear with Him in [the splendor of His] glory.

It is not so much that i live, as it is Christ that lives in me. He is my eternal life. It is in him, and given by him. To know him now is the beginning of life and its perfection from this point on will lie in the vision of Him, my communion with Him, and my conformity to Him.

“A beggar had been sitting by the side of the road for over 30 years.  One day a stranger walked by.  ‘Spare some change?’ mumbled the beggar mechanically holding out his baseball cap.  ‘I have nothing to give you,’ said the stranger.  Then he asked: ‘What’s that you’re sitting on?’ ‘Nothing,’ replied the beggar.  ‘Just an old box.  I have been sitting on it for as long as I can remember.’  ‘Ever looked inside?’ asked the stranger.   ‘No,’ said the beggar.  ‘What’s the point?  There’s nothing in there.’  ‘Have a look inside,’ insisted the stranger.  The beggar managed to pry open the lid.  With astonishment, disbelief and elation, he saw that the box was filled with gold.”  Eckhart Tolle

i have spent many day-to-day moments in the pursuit of fulfilment, like it’s my destination.  What will make me fulfilled?  These are not my personal feelings but ones that i have heard as i ask people are you fulfilled and if not what will fulfill you. Maybe I need a new car? I am unhappy in my relationship.  Maybe I need a new partner.  Mine doesn’t fulfill me anymore. I can’t find anything that fulfills me!!  What’s wrong with me?  Colossians 3 is telling me that i look to the outward world in search of the answer, when fulfillment only comes from within where Christ dwells.

To many days blaming.  So and so yelled at me and ruined my day. The kids are driving me crazy. The neighbor’s lawn is whatever.  How can people live like that and do this or that to me?

Colossians 3:4 is helping me to see that my being fulfilled while living in the chaotic world is only possible from the inside out.  How is it possible to focus inward instead of outward when i am bombarded all day with information through all of the different sources of media and information?  Be still and know! Stillness is not the source of fulfillment but it is the vehicle to find it.

Be “still” look deep within myself, for fulfillment.  Yes i may see that pain, unhappiness and discontent is attributed to some form of non-acceptance and/or resistance to what is actually happening.  Accepting and honoring the present moment, what is actually truth and allowing it to be, can give me a taste of inner freedom from outward conditions. If i work with the present moment, as if i had chosen it, my life would forever change for the better and maybe i would find that treasure, fulfillment which exist because i am raised with Christ.

As a disciple of Christ the “If” question being answered, i am freed from religious law, but i must walk all the more closely with God in truth and obedience. Heaven and earth are contrary to one another, they cannot be followed together and feeding one will take away from the other. As i am born again, i am dead to sin, because its dominion is broken, and it shall be extinguished by the perfection of His glory.

Comments
  1. ldipascal says:

    Ed, today’s post was so timely and just what I needed to read this morning. Thank you for such a great perspective on how fulfillment can only come through our relationship with Christ. I needed to be reminded of that.

Leave a Reply

