1,595 Times…

Posted: April 1, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Meditate on these things. For me to mediate it starts with my thoughts. How can i help myself to practice better thoughts or actually better thinking in everyday life? i think… there are stages required for my thought development. i believe that it must be intentional. The word says that i have the mind of Christ, my thoughts established in Him and my steps ordered by Him. Intentional in establishing my thoughts in Him because i have His mind as part of being raised with Him.

Stage One: The Unaware Thinker (i am unaware of significant problems in my thinking)

Stage Two: The Aware Thinker (i become aware of problems in my thinking)

Stage Three: The Active Thinker (i try to improve but without consistent practice)

Stage Four: The Consistent Thinker (i recognize the necessity of consistent practice)

Stage Five: The Beneficial Thinker (i benefit in accordance with my consistent practice)

Stage Six: The Natural Thinker (skilled & insightful thinking become second nature to me)

i develop through these stages if i accept the fact that there are problems in my thinking and do something about it. This is what i believe Paul is describing to me when he says to aim and seek, to set my mind and keep it set

It is impossible for me to remember everything that i have posted, but i don’t want to forget any of it. My solution is to do this short recap or summary and place it on a postcard to carry around with me.

Colossians 3:1-4

The Question: If then you have been raised with Christ

The Purose or Benefit: [to a new life, thus sharing His resurrection from the dead],

What to do: aim at and seek

What i am looking for: the [rich, eternal treasures] What so ever things… True, Honest, Just, Pure, Lovely, Good Report

A Vision of the Position: that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.

Repeat of what to do: And set your minds and keep them set

Repeat of where to find it: on what is above (the higher things),

This time, where not to find it is added: not on the things that are on the earth.

For me this is a repeat of All the above: For [as far as this world is concerned] you have died, and your [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God.

Again for me this is a repeat of ALL previous lines: When Christ, Who is our life, appears, then you also will appear with Him in [the splendor of His] glory.

Remember how i posted about how important the first word of Colossians 3 was, that two letter word if? i did some research and found out that the word if is mentioned 1,595 times in 1,420 different verses of the King James version. That says to me that there are 1,595 times i will have to make a very important decision.

Leave a Reply

