Deprive of Life…

Posted: April 2, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Colossians 3:5 (AMP.) So ed… kill (deaden, deprive of power) the evil desire lurking in your members [those animal impulses and all that is earthly in you that is employed in sin]: sexual vice, impurity, sensual appetites, unholy desires, and all greed and covetousness, for that is idolatry (the defying of self and other created things instead of God).

Paul, what are you talking about, kill off?

This verse just crys for the Message translation. ed… kill off everything connected with that way of death: sexual promiscuity, impurity, lust, doing whatever you feel like whenever you feel like it, and grabbing whatever attracts your fancy. That’s a life shaped by things and feelings instead of by God.

It doesn’t sound so pious or religious when i read it from the Message. BUT… it doesn’t make it any easier to accomplish. i kinda thought that when i bring my conclusion to the “If” question, in favor of being raised up with Christ, that everything would be taken care of for me and that i wouldn’t have to “Kill” anything? That’s what it says…right?

It seems like the “SO” is incorrectly used. i’m thinking there should be an “I” as in the I Am will kill the evil, not “So” as in ed is to kill the evil. i get the fact that Paul is saying i must answer the “IF” and i must aim and seek, and i must hold onto, when in fact i cannot do it or even a part of it in and of myself. i must be raised with Christ to consider the possibility of any of Colossians 3.

Aim at and seek, set my mind and keep it set, now in verse 5 all the warm and fuzzies are put aside and i get a much stronger description of what it looks like and what action i am to take.

Colossians 3:5 Paul says it in the Message this way, ed, kill off everything connected with that way of death, sexual promiscuity, impurity, lust, doing whatever you feel like whenever you feel like it, and grabbing whatever attracts your fancy. That’s a life shaped by things and feelings instead of by God.”

Kill: to deprive of life in any manner, cause the death of, slay, to destroy, do away with, extinguish.

i am to deprive of life the evil desire lurking in my members, i am to cause the death of the evil desire lurking in my members, i am to destroy, extinguish the evil desire lurking in my members. And so as to be clear Paul says “ed these are the evil desires lurking in your members, sexual vice, impurity, sensual appetites, unholy desires, and all greed and covetousness, for that is idolatry (the defying of self and other created things instead of God).”

It’s as though Paul is saying “ed, Christ has done His part by raising you up, now it’s time for you to do your part.” i sure liked it better when i thought that He would do it all and i was just along for the ride of my life. my implication is that it is easier for Gor to do His part than for me to do mine, not so. How easy is it to give up an only son? How easy is to be falsely accused, beaten, whipped, and hung on a cross to die? In light of that, my portion of the shared responsibility is nothing. While i have shared responsibility, He has taken full responsibility. It could get confusing here and that’s probably why there are some 41,000 verified denominations in the world.

Comments
  1. meandiam says:

    Thank you so much for your gift Ed & Ann Marie! I am indeed grateful to you both! Ed, I do see it here. I thought also for a long time that “Jesus did it all,” and that, “I was in for the ride of my life.” I think this is aligned with spiritual IMMATURITY, which, for me, lasted way too long. “Now lay aside every weight of sin which seeks to entangle…” YEP! I have to do that. Utilizing the POWER (His) that is available to work through me. If I don’t make a decision. If I don’t ACT, I remain stagnant and I remain guilty of the “PERMANENT POTENTIAL” you (rightly) accused me of twenty-five years ago! I am thankful for “faithful ed, and FAITHFUL JESUS! Thanks again for your MANY KINDNESSES toward this prisoner for Christ Jesus! Love ‘ya, Michael

Leave a Reply

