Son of Disobedience?

Posted: April 4, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Colossians 3:6 It is on account of these [very sins] that the [holy] anger of God is ever coming upon the sons of disobedience (those who are obstinately opposed to the divine will),

It is on account of these [very sins]…

i had hoped to bypass what i’ll call the negatives or as Paul calls them the evil desires lurking. It is my preference to look at the positive and certainly not specifically label what the negatives are. It is on ACCOUNT, (a statement of reasons, causes). It is because of these very sins. By statement of reason these very sins… are bad enough that they are labeled as sins and they cause something which is even more alarming.

When i do whatever i feel like, whenever i feel like it, and grab whatever attracts my fancy there is a cause and effect, which i have shared about before.

The first cause and effect applies to me. It will be a struggle for me to proclaim that i am raised with Christ when these evil desires are lurking in me, especially when i am aware of them.

The second cause and effect applies to others. They will here my words which say, “raised with Christ” but will then assume that my behavior is an example of what that is supposed to look like. ORRRRRRRR… they will think if not say, “hypocrite.”

The third cause and effect applies to God and this one is far more serious. The verse says, “THAT, the holy anger of God… Selah! (pause and think on that.)  These, “my” evil desires, lurking in “me”, are the reason or the cause of God’s holy anger coming. Now i am sure or at least i hope that it’s not just me, but the fact that i may be a part of it in any way disturbs me greatly. Then if that’s not enough, how about being identified as one of the sons of disobedience!

A son of disobedience does whatever they want, whenever they feel like it, and they grab whatever they are attracted to.

Son: a male child or person in relation to his parents, a male child or person adopted as a son, a person in the legal position of a son.

Disobedience: lack of obedience or refusal to comply

A male child in relationship to God the father who refuses to comply. i think that pretty well sums it up.

And if there is any doubt about what that looks like Paul itemized a short list so that it is clear to me, sexual vice, impurity, sensual appetites, unholy desires, greed, covetousness, idolatry. Any single item from this list puts me in the sons of disobedience category. Paul does not intend for this to be the list to end all lists but it gives me a starting place. He also does not intend for it to load me up with guilt and condemnation. He is teaching, sharing from his own journey to help me live in the fullness of what God intended for me.

It’s like raising children, you only allow them to bite so many times and then you put your foot down, say, “no more” and bite them back!

Comments

Leave a Reply

