A Name Is Not Enough…

Posted: April 30, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

There are three final statements for me to consider in this verse. They are statements of fact and not options.

Colossians 3:15 ed let the peace (soul harmony which comes) from Christ rule (act as umpire continually) in your heart [deciding and settling with finality all questions that arise in your mind, in that peaceful state]

to which you ed are a member of Christ’s one body… This goes back to verse one with my decision as to “IF.” There is no regret in my decision to answer the call on my life to be raised up with Christ. The thought comes to me regarding Paul’s wording, “member of Christ’s ONE BODY.” He does not entertain the idea of other bodies. Living in my flesh is to be a separated body from that of Christ. The Message says it this way, Let the peace of Christ keep you in tune with each other, in step with each other. None of this going off and doing your own thing.”

ed, you are called [to live]. my membership with Christ’s one body is in response to a call or an invitation from Him. It is personal and intimate and  comes with responsibility.

Called: command or request to come; summon, ask or invite to come, to rouse from sleep.

Paul in Colossians 3 is arousing me from a sleeping state, i am requested, summoned, asked, invited, to become a member of Christ’s one body. as a member i am still being called, requested, summoned, asked, invited, roused from sleep to live as Christ.  i am to live in accordance with my claim as one raised up with Him.

i’m reminded of a true story.

There was a man in the Army of Alexander the Great who was also named Alexander. He was accused of cowardly actions and was brought before Alexander The Great. Alexander asked him, what’s your name? He answered softly, “Alexander.” “I can’t hear you,” the ruler stated. The man again said, a little louder, “Alexander.” One more time the ruler said I still can’t hear you! The man replied, Alexander. Alexander the Great then stated to the man these words. “Either change your name or change your conduct.” This is what Christ is speaking to me through Paul “ed either change your name or change your conduct.

ed, be thankful (appreciative), [giving praise to God always]. The message says, “And cultivate thankfulness.”

Be… cultivate… which ever word i use it directs me to the same thing. The application though seems different to me and it could be just my issue. Be to me says, “do it now, without any hesitation almost as though i can snap my fingers and it happens. Cultivate says to me that it’s a process, that it does not come natural, but through practice it can be done correctly, with humility and sincerity. i am more comfortable with cultivating, as a process gives me room for a failure or two while i’m working on changing my behavior and not my name.

“Then love knew it was called love. And when I lifted my eyes to your name, suddenly your heart showed me my way”  ― Pablo Neruda

Comments
  1. me and I Am says:

    I always cultivate thankfulness to the Father for His mercy. I yield to the Holy Spirits ministry in my life. Now, is better than never! Love ya, MJM

Leave a Reply

