Subject… You Must Be Kidding!

Posted: May 8, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sure God created man before woman.  But then you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece. – Unknown

Colossians 3:18 Wives, be subject…

SUBJECT! Use this word in the context of “wives be subject” and walls of resistance will immediately go up. For women and men that word, subject conjurors up all sorts of incorrect emotions and actions.

Subject – being under domination, control, or influence and all the men cheer while women give me a dirty look. It is my OPINION that either Paul spoke the wrong word or Webster got the definition incorrect. There is nothing warm and fuzzy about this definition and I understand that not everything is warm and fuzzy when it comes to God or relationships. But to me being under dominion does not sound like God. I do not view my relationship with Him as being under His dominion as I am there by free will and of my choosing to be responsive to His invitation.

Within the very same dictionary is the following definition…

Subject – that which forms a basic matter of thought, discussion, investigation, a branch of knowledge, a motive, cause, the theme of, and my favorite… the principal melodic motif or phrase in a musical composition.

Married women exist, occupy the position of the principal melodic motif or phrase in a musical composition.

Paul says, with ed’s interpretation, “ed let Ann Marie occupy the position of the principal melodic phrase in your musical composition.”

AMAZING!!!! This helps me greatly as a husband. To see my wife and understand the role God intended for her to “Be” in my life. This definition to me raise her up to a level I have never understood before. It’s all about her inward being, which is her true self as she has been built. This is an epiphany for me.

Consider the two for yourself… “Wives exist, under dominion” or “wives occupy the position of the principal melodic phrase in your musical composition.” There is no doubt in my mind and i am reminded for what ever reason of one of my favorite verses from Matthew 11:28-30

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

The ed translation – “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on your marriage, relationship with your husband, with your wife or perhaps yourself? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your relationship. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace, the principal melodic phrase in your musical composition. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly in your relationships.”

When wives learn the unforced rhythms of His grace. When Ann Marie submits to my “loving” leadership and follows “God’s” intention for her, she is fulfilled and so am i. It’s a win, win! Efforts to reverse or confuse the duties of wife and husband destroy the blessing each is to be to the other.

Leadership is not dictatorship or lordship. It is loving. In fact, both myself and Ann Marie must be in relationship to the Lord as well as to each other. It is a mutual respect under the lordship of Jesus Christ. When Ann Marie, a Godly woman, is in relationship to the Lord and with me, she experiences a release and fulfillment that she can have in no other way. This mutual love and relationship creates an atmosphere of growth in the home that enables both myself and Ann Marie to become all that God wants us to be.

3 elements to keep in mind regarding being subject:

Being subject does not imply inferiority.

Being subject is not absolute and there may be times when Ann Marie must refuse to be subject to my desires because they violate God’s Word.

my authority is not to be exercised in an authoritative, overbearing manner, but in the context of a loving relationship.

It is my belief that being subject takes nothing away from the dignity of Ann Marie, but rather it enhances her worth in God’s eyes, for such a life is pleasing in His sight.

The true meaning of being subject is of two equals. What integrity Ann Marie who loves God has, because she is willing to be subject to an equal in order that God’s order and function may take place in our family.

If a woman has to choose between catching a fly ball and saving an infant’s life, she will choose to save the infant’s life without even considering if there are men on base.  ~Dave Barry

Comments
  1. John V says:

    Absolutely love this post! Thank you

  2. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and absolutely savored this blog. Probably I’m want to bookmark your website . You definitely come with awesome writings. Thank you for sharing your blog.

  3. I just want to tell you that I am beginner to weblog and actually savored this blog site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You actually come with fabulous writings. Thanks a bunch for revealing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

