Seriously… HIM?

Posted: May 9, 2013 in Colossians 3

 “A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.” – Max Lucado

Is there anything else that needs to be said? Combine that quote with yesterdays definition and it is very clear as to how applying the word would benefit not just wives but all parties involved.

Colossians 3:18 (AMP.) Wives, be subject to your husbands,

(ed) Married women exist, occupy the position of the principal melodic motif or phrase in a musical composition.

Simply put the husband is the musical composition and wives are the principal melodic motif or phrase. I can hear wives and husbands all over saying i’m a what? For me personally, being refered to a musical composition is one of the nicest things ever said about me. Every time i think of Ann Marie as a melodic motif or phrase it stirs me up, it excites me. It helps me to see her as art, as something beautiful, something that is deep in her relationship to God and thus to me. Remember no one can give what they do not possess. How could i as a husband want any more than a wife who’s lips and life are filled with melodic phrases. i understand that this sounds like romantic garble and in the flesh and of this world that’s all it is, but in Him, with my eyes fixed on those things which are above it is reality.

There has been some question about the word subject verses submit. Hearing both words I would agree that submit sounds better on the surface. But then this is not about what sounds better of is more comfortable to swallow.

Submit: to yield oneself to the power or authority of another. I have no clue why the different Bibles use the two different words but it seems like that’s looking for a loop-hole, to not fulfill the intent or the spirit of the verse and role of wives.

As wives love the Lord Jesus, they are willing to do whatever (Remember the NO MATTER post) He tells them to do. Wives love for Christ motivates her to obey. So, she looks in God’s Word. She is a student of Scripture. Jesus said in John 14:21, “If you love Me, you will obey Me.” She says, “Out of loving You Lord, I am going to do what You have told me to do.” That is the motivation for occupying the principal melodic motif or phrase in a musical composition.

There is an example of this in Philippians 2, “Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied (NO MATTER WHAT) Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant (NO MATTER WHAT), and being made in the likeness of men (NO MATTER WHAT). And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself (NO MATTER WHAT) by becoming obedient.” 

These actions by wives or anyone for that matter reveals a beauty from within. In dictionary.com one of the definitions of beauty is “a beautiful person, espe-cially a woman”. When people think of beauty they generally  think of women, but we can see beauty in the words and actions of any person; male or  female. The Word has much to say about the beauty of women. In the Word i see more  about beauty as defined by character. Proverbs 31 devotes the entire chapter to what  King Lemuel’s mother taught him about the ideal woman. She taught him to look  for something beautiful in the woman that he would have for his wife.

1 Peter 3:1-2  Likewise, wives, be subject to your own  husbands, so that even if some do not obey the word, they may be won without a word by the conduct of  their wives, when they see  your respectful and pure  conduct. 

Comments
  1. ldipascal says:

    Great post today! I love this quote by Max Lucado. In fact, I’m going to post it on facebook. J

    Leah

  2. prayerandducttape says:

    Wonderful…honest…the way it should be! Thanks

  3. 593412 783841I like this web website extremely a lot, Its a truly nice billet to read and obtain info . 983484

  4. 658909 503584Exceptional read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was performing slightly research on that. And he in fact bought me lunch as I identified it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! 799219

  5. tatuaggi says:

    94202 146709You got a quite amazing internet site, Sword lily I observed it by way of yahoo. 422367

  6. Too Bored says:

    468742 419962Excellent post, thank you so significantly for sharing. Do you happen to have an RSS feed I can subscribe to? 676408

  7. I just want to tell you that I’m new to weblog and absolutely enjoyed this blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your website . You really have terrific writings. Thank you for sharing with us your website page.

  8. I simply want to say I am all new to blogging and site-building and really savored this web blog. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You surely have amazing well written articles. Thanks a lot for revealing your website.

Leave a Reply

