Husbands… Love!

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , ,

It  is easier to build strong children than to repair broken  men. – Frederick  Douglass

That is so true, i know from experience. i want to look at the worlds terminology regarding love more closely.

According to Webster’s – Love: to have affection for, to have a strong liking for, take great pleasure in, to need or require; benefit greatly from, to embrace and kiss.

To have affection (emotion, feeling, sentiment) for… what happens when i have no emotion or feeling or sentiment am i no longer in love?

To have a strong liking (preference, inclination, or favor) for… and if my preference or inclination changes what then of love?

To take great pleasure (enjoyment or satisfaction) in… When my eyes find enjoyment elsewhere, when i am no longer satisfied with the present?

To need or require… but things change i no longer need the same things or i don’t require what I used to because i have found it elsewhere?

To benefit greatly from… What then when the benefits become less or non-existent?

To embrace and kiss… seriously that’s love?

Everyone of those definitions is about self and what i would get from love. Each of them sets limits on love.

Paul says, “ed, husband, love.” (Ephesians 5:25)  Christ’s love for the church is without limits. He GAVE His life for the church – before i loved Him. His love does not depend on my love for Him. Under God’s authority – i am to love my wife as giving my life to God.

i have used this definition for love for many years, it says this “Love is giving someone, what they need the most, when they deserve it the least, at great cost to me.

In general that sounds all well and good but lived out every day…  can be a different story. Many women would say you don’t know my husband, and many men would say you don’t know my wife. That may be so but God does and He only left one set of instructions that apply to putting together a fulfilling marriage. It’s kinda like one size fits all when it comes to each of our roles whether it’s wives or husbands.

i am still a work in progress. i see what was done for me but i also see what was done by my parents and hundreds of others when it comes to marriage and being a husband. There is a battle and yes i realize the side which gets fed the most will be the victor. That’s why i am doing Colossians 3 word for word.

“He gave His life.” i can say a hundred times that i would give my life for Ann Marie and say it with absolute certainty but when push comes to shove it’s then that i will know for sure. So is that saying that i don’t know for sure that my love for Ann Marie is without limits. i’d certainly argue that but how can i have absolute certainty?

I,  with a deeper instinct, choose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous  demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not  believe me naive or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a  woman. – Anais  Nin

Comments
  1. John V says:

    Enjoyed this!

  2. Raymundo V. Yates says:

    I learned that we may not be aware that we are carrying guilt or other emotions deep inside. We want to bury it – to try and make it disappear. But the feelings aren’t gone. They don’t disappear and they pop up when you least expect it. When you’re ready to make changes in your life. Here is where they come back to the surface and show up as many disguises as, fear, doubt, thoughts of being undeserving, or unfit. These are the thoughts and feelings that keep us from having the life of your dreams, from living a life without limits.

  3. Leona Strube says:

    I simply want to tell you that I’m new to blogging and site-building and absolutely enjoyed this web-site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly have tremendous stories. Appreciate it for revealing your webpage.

  4. I simply want to say I am just very new to blogs and honestly loved this page. Likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You really come with tremendous stories. Cheers for revealing your web page.

Leave a Reply

