Affected… One Way Or The Other!

Posted: May 15, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“The monstrosity of sexual intercourse outside marriage is that those who indulge in it are trying to isolate one kind of union (the sexual) from all the other kinds of union which were intended to go along with it and make up the  total union.”  ~ C.S. Lewis

Colossians 3:19 Husbands, love

How does it matter if the world knows that we are a wonderful pair or not? What is important to me is that the God living within us knows how much we care for each other.

Yesterday i jumped to the extreme conclusion of Ephesians 5:25, by relating it to physical death as in dead and buried death. “Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her.” i suspect that those words mean something different from what i first concluded. In fact after thinking on the idea of actually dying, it might be easier than what is to come as i dig deeper into Paul’s words “gave Himself up for her.”

In the Amplified Bible the interpreters of Paul’s words gave insight into the word love. It says, “Husband, ed, be affectionate.” That word was used in one of the definitions i shared yesterday so in and of itself it misses the mark for me. There must be more than what meets the eye with this word.

Affectionate: fond attachment, devotion. A fond attachment… really? I have a fond attachment to my mini ipad as well as a few other things. i again have found a different definition that i like better than that. The root word for affectionate is affection.

Affection: the state of being affected. It’s about me being “in the state of being affected” by her. The normal question here or at least i think it would be normal, is what am i to be affected by, is it just certain things? Surely you don’t mean everything? And in this state, does that mean all the time, as in 24/7? If so where does my space come into play?

Being affectionate is one thing, while being in, the state of being affected is quite another. The latter is more personal, more intimate. Affectionate can be as Webster defined love as a kiss and embrace. In the state of being affected means that i am changed, my words and deeds will be different.  Whether near or far occupying the state of being affected, occurs as i think on those things which are above and i am affected, changed.

Truth be told i am already affected by Ann Marie. How is another question. Affected to do what? Affected to be angry? Affected to see and hear the principle melodic phrase in our musical composition.

This is impossible to teach in it’s entirety as 90% of it must be experienced through application. It does not make sense, so understanding is not possible. As i am meditating on this i am recalling situations where it would have served God, myself and Ann Marie better than what i did at the time.

Anything worth doing will receive opposition. This must be really worth doing as my flesh is opposing from every side. BUT WHAT ABOUT screams in my ear.

“Each time I look at you, I just smile to myself and think, ‘I certainly could not have done better”

Comments
  1. meandiam says:

    Your blog reminds me of how I struggled to do right in marriage, did…but then didn’t. Thanks God for His provision in Christ!

  2. Neil Hunt says:

    I simply want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and certainly loved you’re page. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You really come with really good writings. Thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  3. Amie Mechem says:

    I just want to say I am just beginner to blogs and absolutely savored this blog site. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You really have impressive stories. Cheers for sharing with us your web page.

Leave a Reply

