Called To This…?

Posted: May 17, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , ,

“Why does a woman work ten years to change a man, then complain he’s not the man she married?”   ―     Barbra Streisand

Colossians 3:19 “ed, husband, be in the state of being affected with your wife  and do not be harsh or bitter or resentful toward them.

1 Peter 3 is a clear picture with details. Peters says, Finally, all [of you] Pay attention husbands. Yes i know he is talking to a more general crowd but again please allow me to make this more specific to my role as a husband. i don’t think Peter would mind.

The state of being affected by my wife. 1 Peter 3:8 Finally, ed, husband, you should be of one and the same mind (united in spirit)… we have got the united in flesh part down and look how that’s working for marriage. Divorce rates in America are over 50% and the same rate applies to “Christian” couples. Get this, in China 5000 divorces take place every day. “One and the same mind.” On everything all the time? my answer to that is that being one means that we come to agreement before I move on anything. Affected means that there must be room for her thoughts, i am to remember intelligent consideration. Same mind reminds me of James 4:1-2 words about where my divided mind comes from.

The state of being affected by my wife. 1 Peter 3:8 ed, sympathizing [with one your wife], loving, being in the state of being affected [by her] as brethren [of one household], compassionate and courteous (tender-hearted and humble). Compassionate: a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another. Someone missed the boat here, either the translators or the dictionary people. i don’t think that Peter intended for me to feel deep sympathy and sorrow for my wife all the time. This makes it sound like she is injured, or lacking to the point that she is less than she was created to be. The AMP. says, tender-hearted: soft-hearted; sympathetic. To me that sounds like the right word.

The state of being affected by my flesh. 1 Peter 3:9 ed, NEVER return evil for evil or insult for insult (scolding, tongue-lashing, berating), There is nothing else to say here. Scolded and rightly so. I see that all of these items are rooted in the use of my tongue. That NEVER stands out not because i bolded it but because this is unconditional. It’s based on one person and that’s me, NEVER regardless of what, NEVER!

The state of being affected by my wife. 1 Peter 3:9 but on the contrary blessing [praying for their welfare, happiness, and protection, and truly pitying and loving them]. For know that to this ed, you have been called, that you ed may yourself inherit a blessing [from God—that you may obtain a blessing as heirs, bringing welfare and happiness and protection].

The state of being affected by my wife. 1 Peter 3:10 For let ed who wants to enjoy life and see good days [good—whether apparent or not] keep his tongue free from evil and his lips from guile (treachery, deceit). Regardless of what else i am to do, controlling the tongue is the foundation. If i desire to enjoy life and see good days then learn to control my tongue. There needs to be an sharp, focused awareness on my part when the word i comes from my lips. It may be that this is about to be all about me and what i am going to insist on.

The state of being affected by my wife. 1 Peter 3:11 ed, turn away from wickedness and shun it, and let ed do right. ed, search for peace (harmony; undisturbedness from fears, agitating passions, and moral conflicts) and seek it eagerly. [Do not merely desire peaceful relations with God, with your fellowmen, and with yourself, but pursue, go after them!]

For the eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous (those who are upright and in right standing with God), and His ears are attentive to their prayer. But the face of the Lord is against those who practice evil [to oppose them, to frustrate, and defeat them].

Comments
  1. Joan Hampton says:

    This cure, can also be called an end of a medical condition. It can be a medication or a surgical procedure, a change in lifestyle, or maybe a psychological counseling to heal or cure a person. So how does, one proceeds for this so called cure or a state of being healed.

  2. I just want to mention I am just new to blogs and definitely loved this web blog. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You surely have good well written articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing your blog.

  3. I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogs and actually loved you’re web-site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You surely come with superb articles. Kudos for sharing your website page.

Leave a Reply

