Irritate Not…

Posted: May 24, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , ,

This can get a little confusing based on my previous posts. Children obey, do not spare the rod and then this…

Fathers, do not provoke or irritate or fret your children [do not be hard on them or harass them], lest they become discouraged and sullen and morose and feel inferior and frustrated. [Do not break their spirit.]

“Fathers” in this context means parents. The word “provoke” means to exasperate, to become disheartened and hence lack motivation. Parents are not to exasperate their children. “Provoke” carries the idea of bitter, irritate.
As a parent  I can provoke my children by continual censure. i may nag my children about inconsequential things. As a parents I possess authority in my role. God does not want me to exercise uncontrolled authority. Severe discipline may make my children bitter and exasperate them as a person. Poor judgment in exercising my authority hinders the development of my children.
This does not mean that i as a parent am never to do anything that might irritate my children. Discipline often irritates children. The word “irritate” is in the continuous tense in the Greek. “Do not keep on irritating your children.” If I as a parent nag my children it will dampen their spirits.

This verse may be better stated as, parents, “irritate not” your children by perpetual fault-finding.

Comments
  1. Derrick Kade says:

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. I just want to say I’m new to weblog and honestly loved this blog site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your website . You amazingly have terrific posts. Regards for sharing your blog site.

  3. Clay Merson says:

    I simply want to mention I am newbie to weblog and seriously enjoyed your website. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You actually have fantastic articles. Kudos for sharing with us your website.

  4. That is the correct blog for anyone who wants to seek out out about this topic. You understand so much its virtually hard to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just great!

  5. Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  6. Fat Loss says:

    Perfect just what I was looking for! .

Leave a Reply

