Servants…

Posted: May 29, 2013 in Colossians 3
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Colossians 3:22 Servants, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters, not only when their eyes are on you as pleasers of men, but in simplicity of purpose [with all your heart] because of your reverence for the Lord and as a sincere expression of your devotion to Him.

That is, in all things relating to the body, and bodily service, not to the conscience, and worship, in things worldly, and not spiritual, in all things that are within a master’s power, and it is lawful for him to command, and in all things that are fitting and proper that a servant should do, and even in such things as may be difficult, troublesome, and disagreeable to the flesh.

Luke 17:7-9 Will any man of you who has a servant plowing or tending sheep say to him when he has come in from the field, Come at once and take your place at the table? Will he not instead tell him, Get my supper ready and gird yourself and serve me while I eat and drink; then afterward you yourself shall eat and drink? Is he grateful and does he praise the servant because he did what he was ordered to do?

The question is, do i give my best, regardless of the cost? Am i like the laborer in Jesus’ parable who expected immediate reward and compensation for his day’s work?  How unfair for the master to compel him to give more than what was expected!  How often do i love to assert my rights: “i will give only what is required and no more!”

Jesus used this parable of the dutiful servant to explain that i can never put God in my debt or make the claim that God owes me anything. i must regard myself as God’s servant, just as Jesus came “not to be served, but to serve.” Service of God and of neighbor is both voluntary a free act and a sacred duty.  i can volunteer for public service or be compelled to do service for my country.  Likewise, God expects me to give him the worship and praise which is his due.  And he gladly accepts the  free-will offering of my life to Him and His service.

What makes my offering pleasing to God is the love i express in the gift of self-giving.  True love is sacrificial, generous, and selfless. How can i love others selflessly and unconditionally?  God himself is Love (1 John 4:16) and He fills my heart with the boundless love that gives what is good for the sake of others. If we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us (1 John 4:12).  God honors the faithful servant who loves generously. He is ever ready to work through and in me for His glory. His love compels me to give Him my best!  And when i have done my best, i have simply done my duty.

Colossians 3:23 Whatever may be your task, work at it heartily (from the soul), as [something done] for the Lord and not for men, Knowing [with all certainty] that it is from the Lord [and not from men] that you will receive the inheritance which is your [real] reward. [The One Whom] you are actually serving [is] the Lord Christ (the Messiah).

Comments
  1. Teri Branch says:

    Greater Love has No One than This 13 Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends, if you do whatever I command you. 15 From now on I call you not servants; for the servant knows not what his lord does: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known to you.

  2. I just want to tell you that I am beginner to weblog and certainly enjoyed you’re blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your site . You absolutely have fantastic articles and reviews. Many thanks for sharing with us your blog site.

  3. Ralph Galano says:

    I just want to say I’m beginner to weblog and certainly liked this blog. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have awesome articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing your web-site.

  4. Natasha Roth says:

    20. loveth not … brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen—It is easier for us, influenced as we are here by sense, to direct love towards one within the range of our senses than towards One unseen, appreciable only by faith. “Nature is prior to grace; and we by nature love things seen, before we love things unseen” [Estius]. The eyes are our leaders in love. “Seeing is an incentive to love” [OCUMENIUS]. If we do not love the brethren, the visible representatives of God, how can we love God, the invisible One, whose children they are? The true ideal of man, lost in Adam, is realized in Christ, in whom God is revealed as He is, and man as he ought to be. Thus, by faith in Christ, we learn to love both the true God, and the true man, and so to love the brethren as bearing His image.

  5. Greater Love has No One than This 13 Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends, if you do whatever I command you. 15 From now on I call you not servants; for the servant knows not what his lord does: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known to you.

  6. Gerlyn says:

    My husband and i have been very cheerful that Jordan could do his web research using the ideas he was given through your web site. It is now and again perplexing to just possibly be freely giving helpful tips which often people have been selling. And we see we’ve got the website owner to give thanks to because of that. All the illustrations you made, the simple website menu, the relationships you make it easier to foster it is many spectacular, and it’s really helping our son and our family understand that article is enjoyable, and that is really pressing. Thanks for all the pieces!I just joined free membership and recommend it for you as well, try it and I am already getting 50,000 visitors after reading awesome ebooks shared by Admin —– http://free-ebooks12.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

