What’s Next… Rhythmical

Posted: June 5, 2013 in What's Next...?
Tags: , , , , ,

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching, Love like you’ll never be hurt, Sing like there’s nobody listening, And live like it’s heaven on earth.”   ―     William W. Purkey

1 Thessalonians 4 1-3 One final word, ed. We ask you—urge is more like it—that you keep on doing what we told you to do to please God, not in a dogged religious plod, but in a living, spirited dance.

While i don’t dance, i love the words in this verse about “living in a spirited dance.” i can’t read it without a visual picture coming to my mind. There is a sense of things being lighter, carefree, melodic.

Living – having life, being alive, not dead, in actual existence or use, active or thriving, vigorous, strong, a living faith, burning or glowing, and lastly flowing freely.

Spirited – having or showing courage, vigor, liveliness.

Dance – to move one’s feet or body, or both, rhythmically in a pattern of steps, especially to the accompaniment of music.

Guardrails can be looked at as restraining or freeing. They are restraining if i want to go beyond them, if i want to go to places that are dangerous or off-limits. On the other hand they are freeing because i don’t have to be on guard all the time. i know what the guardrails are and where they are. John Maxwell says that i should make my decisions early and then all i have to do is manage them. It’s so true, i never get up in the morning and think about whether i am married to Ann Marie or not. i made that decision over 43 years ago and all i do now is manage that decision. When i’m driving home at the end of the day i don’t struggle with whether i have a home or not as seven years ago i made that decision. i have a home and i know where it is. Now each month i simply manage that decision by making the mortgage payment.

Once i choose to dance these rhythmical pattern of steps, i have made my decision and now all i have to do is mange it. When my happy feet, my flesh wants to dance in a certain direction, which may be dangerous or off-limits,  i see the guardrail, a previously made decision not to go there because it is dangerous and off-limits. i manage my dancing feet, away from the guardrail.

Guardrails for me are a rhythmically patter of steps. As i dance these rhythmical patterns my life takes on the purity made available through my relationship with the Father.

Verse 3 says ed, you know the guardrails we laid out for you from the Master Jesus. God wants you to live a pure life….

Pure: free from anything of a different, inferior, or contaminating kind, free from extraneous matter. God wants me to live free from extraneous matter, free from contaminating influences, free from being inferior and that’s why He gave me guardrails, some rhythmical pattern of steps so that i would “be” safe.

“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

Comments
  1. meandiam says:

    The DANCE is such a beautiful metaphor…such a natural and practical reality for a Christ-follower to BE in. Dancing with my Father, enjoying the freedom gained from a sacrifice of praise, or preferably, a pleasurable and natural outflowing of gratefulness!

  2. My dear friend I have nominated you 3- in 1 award! Congratulations! Please visit this link: transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/a-bouquet-of-awards/

  3. I simply want to say I am just beginner to weblog and actually enjoyed you’re page. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You surely have remarkable writings. Kudos for sharing with us your website page.

  4. Clay Merson says:

    I simply want to tell you that I am just newbie to weblog and honestly savored this web blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have very good well written articles. Thanks for revealing your web site.

  5. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness
    over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably
    come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  6. I’d like to find out more? I’d love to find out some additional
    information.

  7. Aliza says:

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  8. At this time I am going to do my breakfast, when having my breakfast coming over
    again to read more news.

  9. Wilford says:

    We’re a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your website offered us with valuable information to work on. You have performed an impressive job and our whole community will likely be
    grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

