What’s Next… Appreciate!

Posted: June 7, 2013 in What's Next...?
Tags: , , , , ,

As  we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them. – John F.  Kennedy

1 Thessalonians 4:4-5 Learn to appreciate and give dignity to your body, not abusing it, as is so common among those who know nothing of God.

Paul says, “ed, learn to appreciate, not when i get time or if i even want to, simply LEARN TO APPRECIATE. What a great day for this word appreciate and learning to do it. It’s one of those “there is nothing wrong, but something is not right days.” It’s a day where i must focus on appreciating as everything within me is telling me i have nothing. i know that’s not the truth but never the less there is a battle and it is disturbing. But how great is it that God would have this post which was started a week ago end up being todays post. It helps to see that God does know and cares enough to send me a personalized message.

Learn: acquire knowledge of or skill in by study, instruction, or experience, become informed of or acquainted with, gain (a habit, mannerism, etc.) by experience, exposure to.

Appreciate: to value or regard highly, place a high estimate on.

Honestly i believe… no i know most of the time, that i am learning, that i am becoming aware of knowledge that is changing my life as i apply it. It’s funny because i am doing a study with some others called “Experiencing God” and this weeks unit taught that truth is revealed and not discovered. Truth is being revealed to me, i am learning to…

As for appreciate, i believe the proof is in the pudding. If i truly appreciate what is being revealed to me then i am applying my life to it. That’s the sign that i place a high estimate on it. Every once in a while i receive a gift that i do not use, in fact it gets put on a shelf or in a drawer and as the saying goes, “out of sight out of mind.” That being said, it leads me to believe that i do not regard it highly, and based on my usage the value is low. I posses it but it plays no part in my everyday life.

Example, my first car was a 1960 Buick station wagon. It had no rear window, no air conditioning, no emergency brake, and no working speedometer. No problem… that is until i got a ticket for speeding and suddenly i had a new appreciation for speedometers. I placed a high enough value on it that i repaired it. Eventually that car taught me to appreciate a working transmission as the reverse gear went out. Imagine driving a car with no reverse and all the adjustments that have to be considered. i learned about those adjustments one day when i went to drive the car. It was not where i had left it but rather at the bottom of a hill at the end of our back yard which just happened to be next to a neighbors garage which my car was now parked in. Oh, it didn’t get there through the garage door but rather the side wall.

Today i will fight to appreciate being a simple creation of God even though it “feels” like i am missing out on something great, something big. God says, ed, gain appreciation (a habit, mannerism, etc.) by experience, exposure to, value and regard highly, place a high estimate on our relationship on My guardrails, My rhythmical pattern of steps. COME TO ME!

Appreciation  is a wonderful thing: It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as  well. – Voltaire

Comments
  1. Rosa Small says:

    I soon began to realize a few very important things as I continued to ponder on what I had in my life as opposed to wallowing on what I didn’t have. I am an intelligent person with great wisdom. I am free and without any serious responsibility but for my own self. I have sufficient time on my hands. I am educated, smart and well informed. People value my opinions, seek my advice often, some look at to me for guidance or inspiration. I am nothing short of a perfectly able person with the ability to think on my own and free to choose how I want to live. And yet I chose to live the way I did. There was nothing holding me back to achieve what ever I wanted or desired for. And if there were any obstacles on my chosen path, like they always do, I could certainly come up with something to overcome them or avoid them based on my skills, intelligence and choice. But in order for me to help choose to make this very necessary charge towards a positive life I needed to do one thing first. I had to realize and deeply understand the amazing things I am truly blessed with. I needed to learn to appreciate the things and people around me with absolute honesty and humility. I had to learn to be grateful!

  2. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  3. You might have shared the very best collection ever. “Sleek Minimal PSD Website” is genuinely an incredible PSD.

Leave a Reply

