What’s Next… Dare I Ask?

Posted: June 11, 2013 in What's Next...?
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay my days are all off and i posted tomorrows post today. Nothing to do but post today’s also and i’ll rest tomorrow. Dare I ask is first!!

All  labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence. Martin Luther King  Jr.

Do i dare ask… learn to appreciate and give what?

1 Thessalonians 4:4-5 Learn to appreciate and give dignity to your body, not abusing it, as is so common among those who know nothing of God.

Oh boy! I should have stopped with dignity and “GIVEN myself” another day. Ha Ha! The words “dignity to my body” sounds like health issues, and my health is nobody elses business. i do not talk about “MY” health issues. Ann Marie will talk about anything and everything with everyone but, it’s not my bag. i have always hated that when i am around people especially older people, eventually every conversation ends up being about aches, pains, and every other personal health issue.

Mark Twain expresses my sentiments perfectly, “The only way to keep your health is to eat what you don’t want, drink what you don’t like, and do what you’d rather not.”

i’m aware that my attitude may not be “Healthy.” i just don’t want to talk about mine nor anyone elses bodily functions or lack of. Fortunately Paul is telling me that the real story and benefits of “MY” good health comes from focusing on the positives of health, what i gain through living well.

Some time ago Ann Marie convinced me to take “a” vitamin. Now i take over a dozen different things. Give an inch… i’ll leave it there. Last year “i” prepared myself for what i knew was going to be some serious dental work. It was a God thing not my thing. It started by going to a dental clinic, getting an evaluation and a plan of treatment. Even that was painful. Cost, about $7,000 but, i need to see a surgeon regarding his part. We borrowed the money from an insurance policy and planned to start. At the same time Onething Campus was moving and… well, the money got used for construction. What i realize now is that i did not really appreciate the dental work and so i let the opportunity slip away. This year i was told to call a local dentist that he might be able to help. The short of the story is, this week i had my upper bridge permanently attached. It’s been two months and there is more work to do but i so appreciate having teeth. Cost was over $25,000 of work but all we had to pay was $3500.00 which many of our friends contributed to.

Here’s my take-away. i had to hear God, accept His plan, then begin to move in response to His invitation. Yes invitation. God is inviting me to join Him in what He was doing. I know it sounds crazy, being invited to be involved in what God is doing in my own life. It has been a God thing every step of the way. On the first visit i had 8 extractions and a root canal and i experienced not one moment of pain and that’s been the case to this day, not one single moment of pain or discomfort. i appreciate my dental work, God, Ann Marie and my dentist for the part each played. i still don’t have the answers as to why God is so interested in my teeth, but i’m not asking, i’m resting, appreciating, knowing, that He is and why is not important.

“Few things are harder to put up with than a good example.” – Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

