Fire From A Rock…

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Gideon
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Gideon questions, “If the Lord is with us,” What? May i just ask, “What about the evil done in the sight of the Lord?” Then he asks why? Seriously, WHY? The clear answer… because of evil done in the sight of the Lord.  Situations, circumstances, trials, tribulations that surround and overtake me are a result of my inner spiritual strength not being able to sustain me. Gideon tries to pass himself and his people off as victims. No sign of repentance or accepting responsibility for previous behavior. Simply “If.”

But for the patience of God!!! “The Lord turned to him and said, Go in this your might, and you shall save Israel from the hand of Midian. Have I not sent you?”

After 70 years under the thumb of the Midianites Gideon’s seems to have lost hope or at least touch with reality and he asks, “Oh Lord, how can I deliver Israel? Behold, my clan is the poorest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.”

Boo hoo, poor me, i am a victim here God. God does not let him slide, “Have I not sent you? Gideon, did you not hear what I said?” “Go in this YOUR might and YOU shall save Israel.” There are times when i listen but do not actually hear what is said. Ann Marie will attest to that. This must be Gideon’s problem. God asks “did you not hear what i said?”

“The Lord then says to him, Surely I will be with you, and you shall smite the Midianites as one man.” i think i would have paid a little more attention to those two little words, like as what do you mean “as one man?” Gideon let’s that slide right on by and says, “If now I have found favor in Your sight, then show me a sign that it is You Who talks with me.” Oh my goodness, nothing but fear and doubt! God is being so patient, again with “IF?” “If now,” It should read, since now i have found favor in your sight, because i have repented, from doing evil in the sight of the Lord.

Gideon needs a sign to be sure it’s God’s voice and that he understood His directions. He says, “Do not leave here, I pray You, until I return to You and bring my offering and set it before You. And He said, I will wait until you return (PATIENCE). Then Gideon went in and prepared a kid and unleavened cakes of an ephah of flour. The meat he put in a basket and the broth in a pot, and brought them to Him under the oak and presented them. And the Angel of God said to him, Take the meat and unleavened cakes and lay them on this rock and pour the broth over them. And he did so. Then the Angel of the Lord reached out the tip of the staff that was in His hand, and touched the meat and the unleavened cakes, and there flared up fire from the rock and consumed the meat and the unleavened cakes.

Now that’s a sign, right? “Then the Angel of the Lord vanished from his sight.”

Leave a Reply

