Knowing Or Doubting…?

Posted: June 28, 2013 in Gideon
Tags: , , , , , , ,

i just read this in my Experiencing God study this week and it is so true. What i do reveals what i believe about God… regardless of what i say. So what was revealed about Gideon’s belief in God? There may be other things than what i saw.

For me putting out a fleece is an act of doubt. As with Gideon, the Lord may honor my request but He may not be happy that i asked.  i will have to face the fact that my faith is weak. But, i am aware that God is incredibly gracious and patient with me, especially when my faith is weak. Gideon knew he was on dangerous ground and was trying God’s patience by asking for multiple signs. After the first fleece, he said, “Do not be  angry with me. Let me make one more request.”

For me, putting out a fleece is not a biblical method of discerning God’s will.  Gideon already knew God’s will, he was merely second-guessing it.

Gideon is not my example. Jesus said on two occasions that “a wicked and adulterous generation seeks after a sign” (Matthew 12:39; 16:1-4). His point was that the signs He had already given them—His fulfillment of Old Testament  prophecy, healings, and miracles—were sufficient to respond to the  truth.

Many times i have received enough information without the sign of a fleece. God told him he would have victory, and He had responded to a previous request for a sign with a display of power in fire. Still, Gideon asked for two more signs because of his own insecurity. When God does provide the sign i ask for, it doesn’t give me what i crave because my faith still doubts. That often leads me to ask for multiple  signs, none of which give me the assurance i need, because the problem isn’t with God’s power, it’s with my perception of it.

As a disciple of Christ, i have two powerful tools that Gideon lacked. First, i have the complete Word of  God which is “God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work” (2 Timothy  3:16-17). i do not need proof  (signs, voices, miracles) to verify what He has already told me in His Word. my second advantage over Gideon is that as a disciple of Christ i have the Holy Spirit, who is God Himself, residing in my heart to guide, direct, and encourage.

i can be content to know God’s will for my life in every situation every day: “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly” (Colossians  3:16); “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all  circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians  5:16-18); “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the  name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:17). If  these things characterize my life, the decisions i make will be in accordance with God’s will. He will bless me with His peace and assurance, and there will be no need to put out fleeces or ask for signs.

God’s will is a hot topic among Christians, and theories abound. My own view, for what it’s worth, is that God’s will is actually pretty simple to discern: act like a disciple of Christ!  In everyday matters such as career, where to live, what kind of car to drive and such, follow my heart with my eyes on the Father so i will “be” all things honest in all.

Comments
  1. silvia says:

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

  2. toby says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

  3. JESUS COMPASSION MINISTRY #416 THOLLA MITHCI NIVAS,CHRISCONS AVENUE,LAKSHMIYAMMA LAYOUT,DODDA BANASWADI,BANGALORE 560043. CONTACT NO:9880991340,08025450879. E-MAIL:jockin.fernando@ymail.com. I bring the greetings to you in the name of our lord and saviour jesus.As im doing ministry among leprorsy,rackpickers,street children,oldage people,orphanage children and in prison.And in prison we are conduting the service twice in a week and share the gospel to the unreached people.Please pray for our ministry,if God leads you to help us financialy. NOTE: please pray for these things:- 1)pray for building for orphans. 2)pray for building for oldage people. 3)pray for vehicle for tranportation mode for children. 4)pray for sponsership for orphange children. 5)pray that more souls to get involved in this ministry for gods name to be glorified. 6)pray for musical instrument. 7)pray for leprorsy ministry as well as for thier treatments. I hope that god will do a miracle through someone to support our ministry. MAY GOD BLESS YOU.

  4. This is a topic that is near to my heart… Thank you!
    Exactly where are your contact details though?

  5. I do trust all of the concepts you have introduced to your post.
    They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts
    are too brief for beginners. Could you please
    lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  6. I am extremely inspired with your writing skills and also with the structure
    on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your self?
    Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

  7. Wow, superb weblog layout! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?

    you made blogging glance easy. The entire glance of
    your website is wonderful, as well as the content!

  8. Great website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get
    advice from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me
    know. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

