Paint Your Wagon And Come Along…

Posted: July 29, 2013 in Quietness and Silence
Tags: , , , , ,

“In quietness and in confidence shall be your strength.” Isaiah 30:15

i’ve been serving at the Onething Prayer Center almost seven years now.  It still seems strange and just doesn’t fit completely. i was told at the start it would take time to get used to a life of prayer and the slower routine. my mind is so used to thinking about things to do for others, to plan, to prepare, to…….. It hasn’t all fallen into place like i hoped or thought it would.  i question why. It is by far the hardest thing i have attempted to do.
My word for today is Psalm 37:23, “If the Lord delights in a man’s way, He makes his steps firm;” I don’t know if these are the words i needed to hear today. Is God delighting in my way? It seems that my steps are firm but, it’s in-between the steps that i’m a little wobbely.
Last night i watched an old movie called Paint Your Wagon that i have enjoyed for years. i can’t really tell you why other than the theme song of the movie resonates with me on some level. Below are just a few words to the song. Here goes….

Gotta dream boy? Gotta song? Paint your wagon and come along.

Where am I goin’? I don’t know. Where am I headin’? I ain’t certain.
All I know is I am on my way.

When will I be there? I don’t know. When will I get there? I ain’t certain.
All that I know is I am on my way.

I came across this prayer from Thomas Merton:

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.
I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end.
Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.
But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you and I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing.
And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road although I may know nothing about it.
Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death, I will not fear, for you are ever with me and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.
i’m listening for God’s voice and direction in the quiet.  Most of my life, i’ve lived in the noise and clutter of the world. It’s again now time for the silence.
“All I know is i’m on my way.” i pray that God is delighting in the way that He has chosen for me….that He will make my steps firm. David asked “what am I doing in the meantime?” His answer was “Hoping.”
Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    ALSO HOPING!

Leave a Reply

