Dwelling In…

Posted: July 31, 2013 in Quietness and Silence
Tags: , , ,

The past seven years have been built around Psalm 27:4 One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek, inquire for, and [insistently] require: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord [in His presence] all the days of my life, to behold and gaze upon the beauty [the sweet attractiveness and the delightful loveliness] of the Lord and to meditate, consider, and inquire in His temple.

Verse 5 is the why, For in the day of trouble He will hide me in His shelter; in the secret place of His tent will He hide me; He will set me high upon a rock.

It’s in that place that i can get out of the wind and the ocean calms and the waves subside. “My presence shall go with thee, and I will give the rest”. Exodus 33:14.

Verse 8 says, Seek My face [inquire for and require My presence as your vital need]. My heart says to You, Your face (Your presence), Lord, will I seek, inquire for, and require [of necessity and on the authority of Your Word].

“My presence shall go with you” means just that. God’s presence goes with me wherever i go, at Onething Campus, at the grocery store, to Costco and Sam’s Club, every where. The power and the peace that comes as rest goes with me everywhere i go. Not everyone goes with the presence of God, some even deny His presence and there are penalties for those choices.

Many times i enter the chamber (garden) to meet God while i am still emotionally out of breath. Silence and solitude, listening to God and meditation all take time………….. time i am sometimes not willing to give.

If i go with the Presence of God i will be known by my lifestyle. The rest that comes with His presence brings about an attitude of praise and gratefulness. That differs from those that do not have that rest and only grumble and complain. If I go with the presence of God i will praise God in difficult times and i will not allow my so-called problems to outshine my Praise,

So what does Praise look like? my Praise is honoring God for who He is. Praise can also be thanksgiving as it Honors God for what He has done.
When I honor God for who He is I Praise and as i go with His presence everywhere despite my situation, my praise brings God into my situation immediately? His presence is what i’m seeking, not some answers or direction. Dwelling in His presence is the answer, it is the direction.

The word is reposition. i am to reposition myself by replacing some of the things that keep me emotionally out of breath. It doesn’t just happen on it’s own. i must leave one place to enter a better place. i must leave parts of the world to enter His presence.

Comments
  1. Theresa says:

    Funny you mention reposition in your post today. I was reading up on Elijah and how God had to reposition him from the brook. The very place God sent him, he eventually had to reposition him from there because the brook was only for a season. But what amazed me was Elijah saw the brook drying up because the Word says “but after a while” so he didnt wake up one morning and it was dry. And it was dry because Elijah prayed for no rain. How did he not freak out or try to make provision for himself? He waited for the Lord to tell him where to go next..an appointed time. Dont know what this all has to do with anything, just stirred in me when I read your post.

  2. silver price says:

    While God is omnipresent, and His presence is always with us, we long to experience Him in some way. When we talk about experiencing the presence of the Lord, we are talking about the realization of God’s presence – of perceiving His presence and being conscious of Him. “ Practising His presence ” through worship is one of the ways this can happen. God has promised that as we draw near to Him, He will draw near to us and we will experience His presence in ever increasing measures.

Leave a Reply

