Esperar…

Posted: August 8, 2013 in Quietness and Silence
Tags: , , , , ,

We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us. – Joseph Campbell

Comment from yesterday. – HOPE and WAIT…hummm…They seems SO opposite sometimes not something I can do at the SAME TIME.  I have a hard time using them in the same sentence together, especially when I fall back into…WHEN IS MY TIME COMING. I do like the comment about what I should be doing while waiting instead of just saying and feeling I’m waiting.  Waiting feels passive, hoping and trusting feels more like a God assignment.

Hope: to look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence, to believe, desire, or trust

Wait: to be available or in readiness

Put the two together and you get, “To be available or in readiness, looking forward to with desire and reasonable confidence.”

Simply waiting is allowing time to pass… that would be passive. Waiting on the Lord is not about waiting, it’s about placing my hope in the Lord as time is passing, and that’s all about God.

Esperanza in English means “to hope”  while esperando means “waiting for.” Both come from the root word esperar which in Spanish means “to hope” and “to wait.” Speaking a little Spanish can help bring the two together.

For the reader with yesterdays comment I must remind you that I said my question of “When is MY time coming” was a wrong question and thus all I can expect is a wrong answer. The real question… if there is one, is this. Am I waiting and hoping for MY time to come? Or… am I waiting and hoping in the Lord. One is about “doing” and the other is about “being.”

“All human wisdom is contained in these two words–“Wait and Hope.” ―  Alexandre Dumas

 

 

Comments
  1. Hi there, after reading this remarkable article i
    am as well cheerful to share my know-how here with colleagues.

Leave a Reply

