MEASURE #3 – Leave It All…

Posted: August 9, 2013 in MEASURE - measure
Tags: , , , , , ,

Review – A MEASURE has the right reserved to the people to approve or reject an act of the legislature, or the right of the people to approve or reject legislation that has been referred to them by the legislature. So with slight adaptions here’s my use. A MEASURE/verse has the right reserved for me to approve or reject an act of the Word of God, or the right for me to approve or reject the Word that has been referred to me by God.

The plan is to take specific verses, present them to myself as MEASURES, approve or reject them and then focus on getting the MEASURE done, so to speak. It’s like people voting for a MEASURE which has been placed on the ballot, it passes, and now becomes law.

So here we go with MEASURE #3 …”and they left it all and followed Him.” Luke 5:11

“As they were going along the road, someone said to Him, I will follow you wherever you go.”  And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay His head.”  To another He said, “Follow me.”  But he said, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.”  And Jesus said to him, “Leave the dead to bury their own dead.  But as for you, go and proclaim the Kingdom of God.”  Yet another said, “I will follow you Lord, but let me first say farewell to those at my home.”  Jesus said to him, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the Kingdom of God.”  Luke 9:57-62

Those can seem like tough words. In fact some would say they are not very caring words but Jesus had a purpose and a plan and a short time to get there.

“But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ.  Indeed I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.  For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I might gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith – that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and may share His sufferings, becoming like Him in His death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.” Philippians 3:7-11

And here’s the why, the value in MEASURE #3, Verse 12 – That if possible I may attain to the [spiritual and moral] resurrection [that lifts me] out from among the dead [even while in the body].

MEASURE #3 Is this, “Leave it all”…every disappointment, every fear, every anguish, every doubt, every glory, every pleasure, every ambition, every earthly dream…leave it all, and follow…

Comments
  1. meandiam says:

    Following HIM is the best course! I love this teaching Ed ! MJM

  2. My dear friend, I have nominated you for some awards! Congratulations! Please visit this link : transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-bouquet-of-3-awards/

Leave a Reply

