Stumbling #3…

Posted: August 14, 2013 in Stumbling...
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Proverbs 29:18 (MSG) “If people can’t see what God is doing, they stumble all over themselves; but when they attend to what he reveals, they are most blessed.”

my take. “If ed can’t see what God is doing, ed will stumble all over himself;” Human! “but when ed attends to what He reveals, ed is most blessed.” God!

I was not aware that Jesus healed blindness more often than any other disease (Matthew 9:27-31, Mark 8:22-26, Mark 10:46-52 and John 9:1-12). Why? Could it be that He recognizes the importance of seeing the dream, of having vision for the future? In Matthew 23:26, He accused the Pharisees of blindness not because their eyes didn’t work, but because they didn’t use spiritual sight.

dreamHabakkuk 2:2-3 in the Message says, “Write what you see. Write it out in big block letters so that it can be read on the run. This vision-message is a witness pointing to what’s coming. It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait! And it doesn’t lie. If it seems slow in coming, wait.” The dream God has planted in me is on its way. It will come right on time. i like the way it says, “it aches for the coming–it can hardly wait.” “my dream aches for the coming – it can hardly wait.” “my dream aches for the coming – it can hardly wait.” It aches for the coming because it is God! God expressing Himself through me.

The problem is that as i grow older and start to experience disappointments in life i begin to become afraid to hope. Yes, afraid to hope! If hope deferred makes my heart-sick,  where does that leave me? It leaves me with days of dismay, with days of stumbling.

Sharing my vision establishes some accountability. What is my vision? Things like, “Oh, well, i have some thoughts, We’ll see what works out,” have no accountability, and there is no faith in those words. i must stand against that which is contrary to my vision: negative relationships, drugs or poor self-image, they must all go. MEASURE #3 was that i am to “Leave it ALL and follow…”

Jeremiah’s application of…  Leave it all and follow… But the Lord is with me as a dread warrior; (Following) therefore my persecutors will stumble; (Leaving) they will not overcome me.(Leaving) They will be greatly shamed, (Leaving) for they will not succeed.(Leaving) Their eternal dishonor will never be forgotten.(Leaving)  Jeremiah 20:11

David’s application of… Leave it all and follow… When my enemies turn back, they stumble and perish (Leaving) before Your presence. (Following)

Proverbs 4:11-12 says I have taught you the way of wisdom; I have led you in the paths of uprightness.  When you walk, your step will not be hampered, and if you run, you will not stumble. This is an assurance? my steps will not be hampered, i will not stumble! This goes back to my opening verse for this series, “when ed attends to what He reveals, ed is most blessed.”

Which brings up something i caught yesterday for the first time. The verse says, If people can’t see what God is doing, they stumble all over themselves;” If ed can’t SEE… The second part of the verse says “but when ed attends to what He reveals, ed is most blessed.” When ed ATTENDS to.

Leave a Reply

