Metamorphosis… Hummmms!

Posted: August 28, 2013 in Metamorphosis, Stumbling...
Tags: , , , , ,

I dreamed I was a butterfly, flitting around in the sky; then I awoke. Now I  wonder: Am I a man who dreamt of being a butterfly, or am I a butterfly dreaming  that I am a man?

Today… some interesting facts and some hard to believe but absolutely true stories.

As I have already shared Metamorphosis is the key element of the butterfly. The Butterfly as a symbol can also represent transition. Yes transition! Cultural myth and lore honor the butterfly as a symbol of transformation. It symbolizes significant change in the course of one’s life, personality or way of thinking. i had no idea! Today as i was continuing my observations of the metamorphosis occurring before my eyes both in my caterpillars which are now hidden in their chrysalis and my own personal life.

The Greeks likened the butterfly’s constant flitting from flower to flower to the restlessness of the mind: constantly changing from subject to subject. The Greek word for butterfly is ‘psyche’ from which we get the word ‘psychology’ – the study of the mind.

In the western world, the symbol of the butterfly stands for freedom, and joyous times. Of course it does. Being free brings joy. It also symbolizes a state of naturalness and purity. The “dance of the butterfly” can teach you not to take things so seriously. The butterfly has taste sensors on the front legs, enabling them to experience life through motion (dancing, walking).

On Saturday after visiting the Butterfly farm we went to Lowes to get some plants for them to suck the sweet nectar from. I decided that I needed to Google to find out what plants to buy and keeping in mind that they are particular. The reply came back by way of over 137 pages of plants with 6 to 8 per page. my frustration led me to think, God this would be easier if you just had butterflies on the plant I am to buy. Instantly a butterfly bigger than any I had seen since starting on this journey shows up and begins fluttering from flower to flower on this one type of plant. I thought nobody will believe this. Then another one appears and i without question purchase three of those plants.

I’m not sure if there are any “Under The Doom” viewers out there but in this past episode the doom within the doom had a caterpillar crawling or actually floating around inside it. i am anxious to see where that goes.

On Tuesday night we have a church that meets on the campus. About an hour or so into their service I gat a text at home… well let me cut and paste it so it’s the exact verbiage. “Just an FYI, the butterflies (they are all in the chrysalis state) were going nuts bouncing all over the place while we were doing the opening prayers and during the reading of the word. They stopped when we stopped reading. Thought it was neat that they were very active during the prayers and reading.”

Leave a Reply

