MEASURE #8 – My Help…

Posted: September 13, 2013 in MEASURE - measure
Tags: , , , , , ,

Psalm 121 provides MEASURE #8. The choice will be to pass this MEASURE or reject it thus defeating it from working in our lives.

I look up to the mountains; does my strength come from mountains? No, my strength comes from God, who made heaven, and earth, and mountains.

He won’t let me stumble, my Guardian God won’t fall asleep.

Not on your life! Israel’s Guardian will never doze or sleep.

God’s my Guardian, right at my side to protect me — Shielding me from sunstroke, sheltering me from moonstroke.

God guards me from every evil, He guards my very life. He guards me when i leave and when i return, He guards me now, He guards me always.

Passing MEASURE #8 is to look to God as my Strength, my Protection, and as my Guardian. When passing or in this case accepting a MEASURE it is similar to making it law. Thus i am now bound to follow the guidelines of it. Of course rejecting this or any MEASURE removes that responsibility. Although It usually comes with a cost to do so, just as passing it comes with benefits.

The benefits for me in this case far outweigh the effort required to come into compliance with this MEASURE. I can illustrate this best by doing my “Flip Side” thing.

I look up to the mountains; does my strength come from mountains? Yes, my strength does not come from God, who made heaven, and earth, and mountains.

He will let me stumble, my rejected Guardian God still won’t fall asleep.

Not on your life! Israel’s Guardian still will never doze or sleep.

BUT God’s not my Guardian, so He is not right at my side to protect me — He is not Shielding me from sunstroke, He is not sheltering me from moonstroke.

God does not guard me from every evil, He does not guard my very life. He does not guard me when i leave and when i return, He does not guard me now, He does not guard me always.

Today I pass MEASURE #8 and accept it as required by law. I must trust and have faith and i must comply or apply it to my life. This is where MEASURE #8 becomes an individual matter. It is for each of us to determine what it means to allow God to be our Guardian who fulfills every word of His promises. This is not new for me but a confirmation as to what has already begun. It’s about building relationship with Him which I am working diligently to do more of.

So… what’s your position on MEASURE #8? Do you want a Guardian or will you vote no? Do you need a helper? And if He is already your Guardian to what degree are you walking in all the benefits He speaks about in this Psalm?

Joshua 24:15 And if it seems evil to you to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell; but as for ed and his house, we will serve the Lord.

Leave a Reply

