While I’m Waiting… Davids Example!

Posted: September 24, 2013 in While i'm Waiting
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

King David was a man of contrasts. He was in one moment committed to God, and in the next committing sins that i wouldn’t consider. That’s not to say that I don’t sin it’s just that my sins are just not as big, (i know sin is sin).

David lived a life often filled with frustration. Even after he became king of Israel, he was engaged in constant warfare to defend the kingdom. David was a great military conqueror, but he could not conquer himself. His one night of lust with Bathsheba, had disastrous consequences.

David was Solomon’s, father who was one of Israel’s greatest kings, yet he was also the father of Absalom, whose rebellion brought bloodshed and grief. David’s life was a roller coaster of emotional highs and lows. In the Psalms he left examples of his love for God and his moments of frustration with God.

Some of David’s high moments were, killing Goliath, killing many of Israel’s enemies in battle, his refusal to kill King Saul, and his friendship with Saul’s son Jonathan. David is included in Hebrews 11. God called David a man after his own heart.

Then there are some of David’s low moments, committing adultery with Bathsheba. trying to cover up her pregnancy, and when he failed with that, he had her husband killed. He took a count of the people, choosing to disobey God’s command not to do that. And he was often lax, or absent as a father, by not disciplining his children when they needed it.

From this point forward is my point. God told Samuel that he had chosen a new king for Israel. The new king was to be one of the sons of Jesse. When Samuel saw the sons he thought the Lord would want Jesse’s oldest son to be the king. Instead, the Lord chose the youngest son, David, who was out tending the sheep. Samuel anointed David as the new king BUT…, it would be many years before the time was right for David to take Saul’s place.

After Samuel anointed David, Samuel left immediately and went back home. David, returned to tending his sheep, “willing to wait” for the Lord to work out things in His time. The difference with David was that the Spirit of the Lord was on him, starting then, up until he died. David waited some 15 years from the time he was first anointed by Samuel to the time he became king over Judah. It was another seven years before David was anointed king over all Israel. This means David waited over 20 years to be made king. During that time of waiting David wrote his own story. One of highs and lows, of success and failures. David’s life teaches me a great deal about “waiting on the Lord.”

1 Samuel 16:7 “The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” (NIV) This ties in with yesterday’s post in which i shared about increasing my ability… my ability to be, a man after God’s own heart.

And as the song says, I will MOVE AHEAD BOLD AND CONFIDENT, taking EVERY step in obedience. While I’m waiting i am serving Him, I am worshiping Him, i am not fainting or becoming weary in well-doing. i am repositioning myself!

Comments
  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come
    back down the road. Many thanks

  2. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative
    and interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I came across this during my search for
    something regarding this.

  3. Remarkable! Its really amazing piece of writing, I have got
    much clear idea on the topic of from this piece of writing.

  4. Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post
    is amazing, nice written and include approximately all vital
    infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  5. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.

    Please let me know where you got your theme. Bless you

Leave a Reply

