MEASURE #10… Fear!

Posted: September 27, 2013 in MEASURE - measure
Tags: , , , ,

Once again today you have two options for the “me and I Am” post. You may click on the player, sit back and listen or you can read it for yourself. I’m still asking for your patience while I work out the bugs. If the player does not show on your device try clicking in the title and see if that works. If neither of them work then I guess it’s back to the stone age of having to read it for yourself, but many thanks either way.

Let me take a moment and explain how this works. A MEASURE has the right reserved to the people to approve or reject an act of the legislature. So with a slight adaptation here’s my use. A MEASURE which in my case is a verse, has the right reserved for me to approve or reject an act of the Word of God.

The plan is to take specific verses, present them as MEASURES, approve or reject them and then focus on applying the MEASURE in my everyday life. Maybe a simpler way of defining MEASURE is to say that MEASURES are a plan or course of action taken to achieve a particular purpose

Now with all that said, today we are considering MEASURE #10… Fear. In church world it’s said that where there is fear there is no faith and vice versa, where there is faith there is no fear. Today’s MEASURE #10 is based on Isaiah 41:10 which says, “Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice.”

Fear is an emotion brought on by a perceived or real threat which causes me to quickly pull far away from it and try to hide. It is a basic emotion occurring in response to specific situations, such as pain or the threat of danger. Fear is my ability to recognize danger which leads me to confront it or flee from it, and in extreme cases it can paralyze me.

It is worth mentioning that fear almost always relates to future events, such as worsening of a situation, or continuation of a situation that is unacceptable, but it can also be an instant reaction to something currently happening.

So it’s time to do a little inventory by asking myself a couple questions. If i had absolutely no fear, would i be doing anything different than what i’m doing today? Just how much fear is there In my life? To be perfectly honest, and just off-hand, i can’t come up with any obvious fears but then that’s why I only do one of these type posts per week. It gives me time to digest what I wrote. At almost 62 fear could keep me from any one the new adventures i’m embarking on and that’s why this MEASURE is coming up today. Better to be safe than sorry. Trying to learn this podcast thing could cause me to fear as i’m not a techy at heart.

I am voting YES on MEASURE #10 by placing my name into Isaiah 41:10, accepting it as law, and making it my confession of FAITH for the next week.

So here it goes… “I do not fear [because God has not give me a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind], and [there is nothing to fear], my God is with me; i do not look around in terror and become dismayed, because even though i walk through the valley of the shadow of death, i fear no evil. my God is with me. my God’s rod and staff, comfort me .my God strengthens and hardens me to difficulties. my God shows up and helps me. my God holds me up and retains me with His [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice.

Audrey Hepburn said it this way, “Pick the day. Enjoy it to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present – and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.

So once again we come to the close. You must decide for yourself. Will you vote yes on MEASURE #10 and get rid of fear? Or will you hold onto the emotion which is brought on by a perceived threat which causes you to quickly pull far away from it and try to hide?

Comments
  1. wAYNE says:

    I like the audio very much … Keep it up

Leave a Reply

