Fasting… Hard, Honest, Personal Words!

Posted: October 1, 2013 in Fasting, Podcasts
Tags: , ,

Please click the player or link to listen.

Through fasting and prayer, the Holy Spirit can transform my life. Sometimes it seems like those are just nice words but upon examining my life daily i can honestly say, “That is what i desire.”Fasting and prayer are for me the most powerful spiritual disciplines i can participate in as a disciple of Christ.

i want to be a help to you which is why i’m sharing with you on this or any other topic. From the word, personal experience and observation i want to share with you what i have learned. Whether you complete a 1-day fast or an extended 40-day fast, my prayer is that His love and blessings will be poured out on you as you take this exciting step of faith.

Isaiah 58 1-9 is rocking my world this morning. It’s a clear picture of what a fast is not and, what God intended a fast to be.

i’ll share it with you. – “Shout! A full-throated shout! Hold nothing back—a trumpet-blast shout! Tell my people what’s wrong with their lives, face my family Jacob with their sins! They’re busy, busy, busy at worship, and love studying all about me. To all appearances they’re a nation of right-living people, aw-abiding, God-honoring. They ask me, ‘What’s the right thing to do?’ and love having me on their side. But they also complain, ‘Why do we fast and you don’t look our way? Why do we humble ourselves and you don’t even notice?’

“Well, here’s why:

“The bottom line on your ‘fast days’ is profit. You drive your employees much too hard. You fast, but at the same time you bicker and fight. You fast, but you swing a mean fist. The kind of fasting you do won’t get your prayers off the ground. Do you think this is the kind of fast day I’m after: a day to show off humility? To put on a pious long face and parade around solemnly in black? Do you call that fasting, a fast day that I, God, would like?

“This is the kind of fast day I’m after: to break the chains of injustice, get rid of exploitation in the workplace, free the oppressed, cancel debts. What I’m interested in seeing you do is: sharing your food with the hungry, inviting the homeless poor into your homes, putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad, being available to your own families. Do this and the lights will turn on, and your lives will turn around at once. Your righteousness will pave your way. The God of glory will secure your passage. Then when you pray, God will answer. You’ll call out for help and I’ll say, ‘Here I am.’

Well… That certainly seems to about more than just skipping a meal or two. It would seem to indicate a lifestyle which includes fasting.

Isaiah 58’s words are eye openers, “busy, busy, busy at worship, and love studying all about me. To all appearances you’re a person of right-living, aw-abiding, God-honoring. You ask me, ‘What’s the right thing to do?’ and love having me on your side. But you also complain, ‘Why do i fast and You don’t look my way? Why do i humble myself and You don’t even notice?’

i shared yesterday that my fast was to put me into position for the power of God to flow through me but, what i didn’t say, because i didn’t realize it until reading these hard but honest words was that in some ways “The bottom line on my ‘fast days’ is profit.”

Wow, there’s no hiding anything from God whether intentional or unintentional.

my motive in fasting must be to glorify God, not to have an emotional experience, and not to attain personal happiness. When my motives are right, God will honor my seeking heart and bless my time with Him in a very special way.

If renewed closeness with God, and greater sensitivity to spiritual things come from a fast, then i can’t be disappointed. Isaiah 58 was not what I was looking for when I started posting today but it certainly fulfilled it’s purpose.

In closing, This was a “mountaintop experience” for me but if you don’t have a “mountaintop experience,” it’s okay. After completing my first 40 day fast i simply had the feeling of a nearness to God that i had never had before, but others who have fasted report no particular results at all. Still for others, their fast was physically, emotionally, and spiritually grueling, but they knew they had been called by God to fast, and they completed the fast as an act of worship.

Comments
  1. ldipascal says:

    Ed, I just listened to your second podcastreally good! I like the intro music on the front end and the podcast link now shows up in your subscriber email. (see below). I’ve tried to find Mobile Podcaster on the iTunes store but I’m having trouble locating it for downloading. Can you send me the direct link? I’m ready to start experimenting with podcasting and it looks like you’ve had success with this ap.

    Thanks so much, Leah

    From: me and I Am’s Blog Reply-To: me and I Am’s Blog Date: Tuesday, October 1, 2013 10:00 AM To: LEAH DIPASCAL Subject: [New post] Fasting Hard, Honest, Personal Words!

    WordPress.com meandiam posted: “Please click the player or link to listen. Through fasting and prayer, the Holy Spirit can transform my life. Sometimes it seems like those are just nice words but upon examining my life daily i can honestly say, “That is what i desire.”Fasting and”

Leave a Reply

