Fasting… A Split In my Pants!

Posted: October 3, 2013 in Fasting, Podcasts
Tags: , ,

Please click the player or the link to listen.

 

Have you ever heard the story about the young Zoad, who came to a sign at the fork of the road.

He looked one way and the other way too. The Zoad had to make up his mind what to do.

Well, the Zoad scratched his head, and his chin, and his pants. and he said to himself, “I’ll be taking a chance.

If I go to Place One, that place may be hot. So how will I know if I like it or not?

On the other hand, though, I’ll feel such a fool, if I go to Place Two and find it’s too cool.

In that case I may catch a chill and turn blue. So Place One may be best and not Place Two.

Play it safe,” cried the Zoad, “I’ll play it safe, I’m no dunce. I’ll simply start off to both places at once.

And that’s how the Zoad who would not take a chance went no place at all with a split in his pants.

Those words of wisdom come from Dr. Suess and they really do describe times in my own life and possibly, a few others as well.

Tuesday on my way home after having had the entire day to think on Isaiah 58 as it pertained to what was my current fast, and i knew i had to make a decision just like the Zoad. Let me see if i can bring Isaiah 58 and the Story of the Zoad  together.

Isaiah 58 describes two roads or two fasts. Imagine with me that this is my Place One – They’re busy, busy, busy at worship, and love studying all about me. To all appearances they’re a nation of right-living people, aw-abiding, God-honoring. They ask me, ‘What’s the right thing to do?’ and love having me on their side. But they also complain, ‘Why do we fast and you don’t look our way? Why do we humble ourselves and you don’t even notice?’

“Well, here’s why:

“The bottom line on your ‘fast days’ is profit. You drive your employees much too hard. You fast, but at the same time you bicker and fight. You fast, but you swing a mean fist. The kind of fasting you do won’t get your prayers off the ground. Do you think this is the kind of fast day I’m after: a day to show off humility? To put on a pious long face and parade around solemnly in black? Do you call that fasting, a fast day that I, God, would like?

Now imagine with me that this is second type of fasting is my Place Two – “This is the kind of fast day I’m after: to break the chains of injustice, get rid of exploitation in the workplace, free the oppressed, cancel debts.”

i was at a fork in the road. Do i continue the fast i was on and just do better, or do i start all over with a new fast?

i looked one way and the other way too. i  had to make up my mind what to do.

Like the Zoad i scratched my head, and my chin, and my pants. and said to myself, “I’ll be taking a chance.

If I go to Place One, that place may be easy. But how do i know if I’ll like it or not?

On the other hand, though, i’ll feel such a fool, if I go to Place Two and find it’s too hard.

In that case i may leave fasting for another day . So Place One may be best and not Place Two.

Play it safe,” cried the ed, “I’ll play it safe, I’m no dunce. I’ll simply start off to both places at once. STOP!

I know i can’t start off nor stay in both places at once.
i knew i had to take what seemed like a chance, but was in all reality, the right thing to do.

And thus i began a new fast, so that i didn’t end up going no place with a split in my pants.

Leave a Reply

