MEASURE #11… Together!

Posted: October 4, 2013 in MEASURE - measure, Podcasts
Tags: , , , ,

Please click the player or the link to Listen.

Let me take a moment and explain how this works. A MEASURE has the right reserved to the people to approve or reject an act of the legislature. So with a slight adaptation here’s my use. A MEASURE which in my case is a verse, has the right reserved for me to approve or reject an act of the Word of God.

The plan is to take specific verses, present them as MEASURES, approve or reject them and then focus on applying the MEASURE in my everyday life. Maybe a simpler way of defining MEASURE is to say that MEASURES are a plan or course of action taken to achieve a particular purpose

This past week I have been sharing regarding fasting. i’m not going to spend a lot of time recapping as it’s all available in the posts or the podcasts. Today MEASURE #11 comes from the book of Esther. Again, i’m not going to spend time telling that whole story, as you can read it for yourself or you may already be familiar with it.

Henry Ford said, “Coming  together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is  success.” That’s what MEASURE #11 is about, all three of those, coming together, keeping together, and working together. If we do that and it’s a true statement, then we all will achieve success.

The short starting place for today is this. Mordecai had sent Esther a message and she responded this way, picking up in verse 11. “All the king’s servants and the people of the king’s provinces know that any person, be it man or woman, who shall go into the inner court to the king without being called shall be put to death; there is but one law for him, except [him] to whom the king shall hold out the golden scepter, that he may live. But I have not been called to come to the king for these thirty days. And they told Mordecai what Esther said.

Then Mordecai told them to return this answer to Esther, Do not flatter yourself that you shall escape in the king’s palace any more than all the other Jews. For if you keep silent at this time, relief and deliverance shall arise for the Jews from elsewhere, but you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows but that you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this and for this very occasion? Then Esther told them to give this answer to Mordecai,

Here’s the part that makes up our MEASURE #11.  Go, gather together all the Jews that are present in Shushan, and fast for me; and neither eat nor drink for three days, night or day. I also and my maids will fast as you do. Then I will go to the king, though it is against the law; and if I perish, I perish. So Mordecai went away and did all that Esther had commanded him.

There must have been a level of character already established in the heart of Esther in order for her to be able to make the choice she made at this time in her life. Over the course of my life i can look back and reflect on the times that made a huge difference in the path my life has taken. Ann Marie and I call them Spiritual Markers and let me add, they were not always easy to see at the time!

In Louis Carroll’s book Alice in Wonderland, Alice comes to a fork in the road and doesn’t know which way to turn. She sees the grinning Cheshire cat and asks which direction she should take. The cat replies, “That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”

Yesterday I shared about my fork in the road regarding my fast, I had to make a decision as to where I wanted to go. Each of you must make that decision for yourselves, “where do you want to go”? I invite you to come with me and test the waters of fasting, if only for a day.

With some slight modification the words from Esther make clear what you will be voting for or against in MEASURE #11. Gather together all the subscribers, the readers, the viewers and the listeners and do not drink for one to three days. i will be there together fasting and praying. Then we will go to the King of Kings and present your case or need as it is today.

i’ll close with this quote from Paul Ryan, “Every  successful individual knows that his or her achievement depends on a community of persons working together.”

Leave a Reply

