Looking foolish… Appearances!

Posted: October 10, 2013 in Looking Foolish..., Podcasts
Tags: , , , , ,

Please click on PLAYER or LINK to listen.

Let’s begin with a quote from John Piper. “My feelings are not God. God is God. My feelings do not define truth. God’s word defines truth. My feelings are echoes and responses to what my mind perceives. And sometimes – many times – my feelings are out of sync with the truth. When that happens – and it happens every day in some measure – I try not to bend the truth to justify my imperfect feelings, but rather, I plead with God: Purify my perceptions of your truth and transform my feelings so that they are in sync with the truth.”  John Piper

A few more thoughts on my foolishness which I shared about yesterday. It was not a matter of disobedience but it was in some way a matter of the heart. Regardless it must be changed. Here’s the ridiculous part of this. For two months I have been focusing on repositioning myself to be in the place where God can use me. Did you get that, the place where God could use me?

i’m finding that some people wear there looking foolish proudly, shirts, hats, coffee mugs, etc.. Not me, i’m not one to even wear logos of companies so posting my looking foolish moments is not enjoyable but is required. I do my best to not selectively post things. The goal is that you get exactly who i am without the filters.

CoffeJohn Maxwell says, “need to take success and failure concerning ourselves much less seriously and take God much more seriously.
We need to seed a risk taking mind-set. We need to constantly be planting seeds that will develop a mind-set that is willing to take risks.” And i’ll willing to look foolish.

Quite honestly I think that there is always risk of looking foolish involved when i stand at a cross roads. Those are dangerous times, but, that is no reason to be paralyzed with fear of looking foolish.

So why is it that in some cases i’m so image-conscious and afraid of what other people think while in others I could care less?

The question is not, “Will i ever look foolish?”  Of course i will. It’s unavoidable.  The question is, “What am I willing to look foolish for?”  Looking foolish because i’ve done something stupid, or i’ve gotten myself involved in something really doesn’t matter, is beneath me and a waste of my time.

So, is there something i want to do, something I need to do, a MUST do,  then i must dare to look foolish and embrace it. It’s said that the opportunities of a lifetime must be seized in the lifetime of the opportunity. There will be opportunity for struggling. Ann Marie and I have a new phrase we are using as we face the struggles, “we can’t go around it, we can’t ignore it, oh no, we must go through it.”  i have to sometimes risk looking foolish in order to hit the goal.

With regards to my looking foolish incident, how could I look any more foolish than I do now. The individual if for whatever reason wasn’t healed instantly would simply be in the same place as they are today. But what if they had? i’ll never know because that opportunity is in the past and while I didn’t look foolish then, I certainly do now.

Mark Batterson says, “Faith is the willingness to look foolish.” People in the world often look foolish in what they’re doing but they don’t care if it’s going to take them to a place of accomplishment, a place viewed as successful.

The founder of IBM Thomas Watson says: “The way to succeed is to double your failure rate.” That means double my opportunity to look foolish.

Thomas Edison said “There is only one good idea in 100 so I want to discover the 99 failures as quick as possible.” That means i will look foolish 99 out of 100 times.

Approximately 60% of all basketball shots made don’t go in. 25% of all batters make it to first base. In an oil company, only 10% of oil wells drilled hit oil. For actors, only 1 out of 30 auditions turns up in something that is of value. Nobody thinks they look foolish.

Here’s my “Take Away,” Do I view looking foolish as an opportunity for growth or as a personal indictment? And one last thing… which of the gingerbread people are you?

Leave a Reply

