Looking Foolish… Change!

Posted: October 17, 2013 in Looking Foolish...
Tags: , , , , , ,

Please click on player or link to listen.

imagesCAC31X6DIf someone gave me $50, would it change my life? A night out to dinner with Ann Marie and it’s gone. What if i had a new car? Give it a month and there would be a newer model, a better one with more bells and whistles. On the other hand, one thought can change my life. For me one of those thoughts is Colossians 3:10 (NIV) “(ed) has put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” That means to put on new thinking. This new thinking will keep me from being foolish, but will require me to do foolish in others minds, but what is obedience in Gods’ mind. Change my mind, everything changes. Foolish becomes obedience!

Many of the police drama’s refer to the witness protection program. It’s when a witness whose life is threatened is given a new identity. They get a new name, a new home, new ID, but… are they a different person? Without a change on the inside, they will go back to the same habits resulting in the same outcome wherever they go: stealing cars, doing dope, whatever.  Change my mind, everything changes. Foolish becomes courageous!

I need a renewed mind, and a new vocabulary. Ephesians 1:5 says, He foreordained me (destined me, planned in love for me) to be adopted (revealed) as His own child through Jesus Christ, in accordance with the purpose of His will [because it pleased Him and was His kind intent]

I heard this recently, “I can not think something about me that God would not think about me.” What does that cause me to remove from not only my thinking but my words and actions? Change my mind, everything changes. Foolish becomes willingness!

Henry Ford said, “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re probably right.” If I am expecting to feel foolish i probably will. Why not expect to be a man after God’s own heart. In Mark 2:3-5 four men brought their paralyzed friend to Jesus. They came expecting, and when they couldn’t get in because of the crowd they tore a hole in the roof to get their friend to Jesus. They didn’t mind believing to the point of looking foolish. Change my mind, everything changes. Foolish becomes determination!

One of my favorite things about the word is how honest it is about the shortcomings of the men of God. i think that is so i can realize that i can overcome my shortcomings like feeling foolish and not accepting an invitation to join God in someone getting healed.

  • Jacob, in Genesis 27, used deceit to get Esau’s birthright as firstborn.  Jacob continued to pay for that character flaw.
  • Moses suffered from low self-esteem. Moses whines, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”
  • Gideon is hiding in the wine-press when an angel shows up and calls him “a mighty man of valor.”
  • Peter’s first reaction to Jesus was “Depart from me for I am a sinful man.” Later he denies even knowing Jesus.
  • Paul, David, Elijah, Noah, Samson, Jonah… They all had their faults but they didn’t stay there and neither am I staying there.

When these men got the understanding that they were God’s mighty men, they became the leader God needed. They changed their mind, and everything changed. I understand better today about feeling foolish and how I found myself in that place. As Paul often said, I have not attained perfection in these matters but I am pursuing the prize of the high calling. Change my mind, everything changes.

What is required for mind renewal? Joshua 1:8 commands, “This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.” Why? Change my mind, everything changes.

Leave a Reply

