MEASURE #12… Guard my Heart!

Posted: October 18, 2013 in MEASURE - measure
Tags: , , , ,

Please click the player or the link to Listen.

guard-my-heart-400Let me take a moment and explain how this works. A MEASURE has the right reserved to the people to approve or reject an act of the legislature. So with a slight adaptation here’s my use. A MEASURE which in my case is a verse, has the right reserved for me to approve or reject an act of the Word of God.

The plan is to take specific verses, present them as MEASURES, approve or reject them and then focus on applying the MEASURE in my everyday life. Maybe a simpler way of defining MEASURE is to say that MEASURES are a plan or course of action taken to achieve a particular purpose

“My Mama taught me…” “Uncle Joe always said…” “My friend James told me…” When is it time for, “What does God’s Word say? Deuteronomy 30:19-20 points out the choice: “I call heaven and earth to witness against ed this day, that I have set before ed life and death, the blessing and the curse: therefore ed should choose life, that ed may live, ed and his seed.” Choose life! Right thinking attracts the blessings of God. Garbage in garbage out! It doesn’t matter how many teachings I hear if i don’t change my mind. However, change my mind, I’m ready for a miracle. Change my mind, everything changes.

Proverbs 4:20-27 warns me to guard my heart. It says, “Dear friend, listen well to my words; tune your ears to my voice. Keep my message in plain view at all times. Concentrate! Learn it by heart! Those who discover these words live, really live; body and soul, they’re bursting with health. Keep vigilant watch over your heart; that’s where life starts. Don’t talk out of both sides of your mouth; avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip. Keep your eyes straight ahead; ignore all sideshow distractions. Watch your step, and the road will stretch out smooth before you. Look neither right nor left; leave evil in the dust.”

There’s the foundation for MEASURE #12. Guard your heart. To vote yes on MEASURE #12 would be to agree to “listen to God’s words, and keep His message in plain view at all times, to concentrate on it and learn it by heart. It also means that we agree to speak truth, to avoid argument for the sake of argument, to end telling little white lies and no more gossip.

So what do you think? Can I encourage you to vote yes on MEASURE #12, to commit to just one day and see what happens? Change your mind, everything changes! The only way to know for sure if that’s true is for you to try it.

The following are some truths that i find useful in helping me change my mind.

  • i cannot change what i refuse to confront.
  • Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.
  • i must not think of cost.  I must think of value.
  • No matter how many mistakes i make or how slow i progress, I am still way ahead of everyone who isn’t trying.
  • Life is 10% of what happens to me and 90% of how i react to it.
  • I can’t say i don’t have enough time. i have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Mother Teresea, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, Albert Einstein, etc…
  • If i really want to do something, i’ll find a way. If i don’t, i’ll find an excuse.
  • In life, if I don’t risk anything, i risk everything.
  • When i stop chasing the wrong things i give the right things a chance to catch me.
  • Every single thing that has ever happened in my life is preparing me for a moment that is yet to come.
  • There isn’t anything noble about being superior to another person. True nobility is in being superior to the person i once was.
  • i will never become who i want to be if i keep blaming everyone else for who I am now.
  • i can’t start the next chapter of my life if i keep re-reading my last one.
  • If i don’t like something, change it.  If i can’t change it, change the way i think about it.

Todays closing has nothing to do with MEASURE #12 it just sounded good to me as a parent. Love and appreciate your parents. We are often so busy growing up, we forget they are also growing old.

MEASURE #12 – Change your mind, change everything!

Leave a Reply

