Things i’ve Learned…

Posted: November 1, 2013 in Am i There Yet?, Podcasts, Wandering Thoughts

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK TO LISTEN.

This post is in honor of my turning 62 and rather than receive gifts i decided to give what I hope to be gifts. These are things that have been learned through much trial and error and… and take note in no way am i insinuating that i have perfected them. i am very much a work in progress.

These are in no particular order and I though it would be a little redundant to actually number them so here we go…

I’ve learned- that i cannot make anyone love me. All i can do is be someone who can be loved. The rest is up to them.

I’ve learned- that no matter how much i care, some people just don’t care back.

I’ve learned- that it takes years to build up trust, and only seconds to destroy it.

I’ve learned- that no matter how good a friend is, they’re going to hurt me every once in a while and i must forgive them.

I’ve learned- that it’s not what i have in my life but who i have in my life that counts.

I’ve learned- that i should never ruin an apology with an excuse.

I’ve learned- that i shouldn’t compare myself to the best others can do.

I’ve learned- that i can do something in an instant that will give me heartache for life.

I’ve learned- that it’s taking me a long time to become the person i want to be.

I’ve learned- that i should always leave loved ones with loving words. It may be the last time i see them.

I’ve learned- that i can keep going long after i can’t.

I’ve learned- that I’m responsible for what i do, no matter how i feel.

I’ve learned- that either i control my attitude or it controls me.

I’ve learned- that regardless of how hot and steamy a relationship is at first, the passion fades and there had better be something else to take its place.

I’ve learned- that heroes are the people who do what has to be done when it needs to be done, regardless of the consequences.

I’ve learned- that money is a lousy way of keeping score.

I’ve learned- that my best friend and i can do anything or nothing and have the best time.

I’ve learned- that sometimes the people you expect to kick you when you’re down will be the ones to help you get back up.

I’ve learned- that sometimes when i’m angry i have the right to be angry, but that doesn’t give me the right to be cruel.

I’ve learned- that true friendship continues to grow, even over the longest distance.

I’ve learned- that just because someone doesn’t love me the way i want them to doesn’t mean they don’t love me with all they have.

I’ve learned- that maturity has more to do with what types of experiences i’ve had and what i’ve learned from them and less to do with how many birthdays i’ve celebrated.

I’ve learned- that i should never tell a child their dreams are unlikely or outlandish. Few things are more humiliating, and what a tragedy it would be if they believed it.

I’ve learned- that my family won’t always be there for me. It may seem funny, but people i’m not related to can take care of me and love me and teach me to trust people again. Families aren’t biological.

I’ve learned- that it isn’t always enough to be forgiven by others. Sometimes i need to forgive myself.

I’ve learned- that no matter how bad my heart is broken the world doesn’t stop for my grief.

I’ve learned- that my background and circumstances may have influenced who i am, but i am responsible for who i become.

I’ve learned- that a rich person is not the one who has the most, but is one who needs the least.

I’ve learned- that just because two people argue, it doesn’t mean they don’t love each other. And just because they don’t argue, it doesn’t mean they do.

I’ve learned- that i don’t have to change friends if i understand that friends change.

I’ve learned- that i shouldn’t be so eager to find out a secret. It could change my life forever.

I’ve learned- that two people can look at the exact same thing and see something totally different.

I’ve learned- that no matter how i try to protect my children, they will eventually get hurt and i will hurt in the process.

I’ve learned- that even when i think i have no more to give, when a friend cries out to me, i will find the strength to help.

I’ve learned- that credentials on the wall do not make me a decent human being.

I’ve learned- that the people i care about most in life are taken from me too soon.

I’ve learned- that it’s hard to determine where to draw the line between being nice and not hurting people’s feelings, and standing up for what i believe.

I’ve learned- that people will forget what i said, and people will forget what i did, but people will never forget how i made them feel.

I’ve learned- that i don’t always need to be right.

I’ve learned- that being in control doesn’t always make things go the way i want.

I’ve learned- that blaming others will only hide my lack of taking responsibility, for so long.

I’ve learned- that i must not speak anything about myself that God wouldn’t say about me.

I’ve learned- that it is to my benefit to always be teachable in all situations.

I’ve learned- that grumbling and complaining gets me nowhere.

I’ve learned- that looking at the value of things versus the cost is wisdom applied.

I’ve learned- that i don’t need to impress anyone.

I’ve learned- that if i change my mind, everything changes.

I’ve learned- to not judge and label others.

I’ve learned- that where there is fear there is no faith.

I’ve learned- to look not get stuck in the past.

I’ve learned- to give up attachments to “things.”

I’ve learned- to live life according to God’s expectations and not other people’s.

I’ve learned- to take risks. The older i become, the harder it gets.

I’ve learned- that the most important thing i learned through education was how to learn. Once i got that, nothing stood in me way. Never stop learning.

I’ve learned- that i would rather say i tried and failed than live a life of regret.

I’ve learned- to dream big. Life is too short to only be mediocre.

I’ve learned- that music is the cheapest and simplest cure to many of life’s problems.

I’ve learned- that I need to surround myself with people way smarter than i am.

I’ve learned- that only those who are with me during the struggles deserve to be with me when i celebrate the successes.

I’ve learned- to pick and choose my battles carefully. There are only 24 hours in a day. If something isn’t worth my time, just say no…or outsource it to India

I’ve learned- that the world may seem big and scary. But the older i get, the more i realize that everything is man-made. Nothing is set in stone.

I’ve learned- that life is not easy. But having the right community with me during the journey goes a long, long way.

I’ve learned- that unity does not always include more than myself.

Lastly…

I’ve learned- that there Is no one person, no group of people, no single possession, no conglomeration of possessions that can do for me what God has and is doing for me. He gave me a most exquisite gift in my wife, a blessed gift in my children and a special gift with all of you that share some portion of my 62 years.

Comments
  1. Keith DiPascal says:

    Good Morning Dr. Ed: I really enjoyed your last series and your post today was very good. Take Care

Leave a Reply

