Good, Better, Best! – Part 2

Posted: November 12, 2013 in Good, Better, Best!, Podcasts
Tags: , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK TO LISTEN.

Laura Ingalls Wilder says, “Every job is good if you do your best and work hard. A man who works hard stinks only  to the ones that have nothing to do but smell.”

If you read these posts with any regularity you’ll know that i refer to something i call the “flip side.” It’s the other side of what i’m sharing, usually it’s the negative side or effects of something. So would the “flip side” of Good, Better, Best, never let it rest till your Good is the Better and your Better is the Best, be, Bad, Worse, Worst, never let it rest till you bad is worse and your worse is the worst?

No! i’m not going there, just throwing out the thought. Sometime in the future i or you will be making a decision about whether to do something Good, Better or Best and i or you will remember the Bad, Worse, Worst and it will encourage us to make the wiser choice or at leas smile.

There are some things that i know about myself and when i do my best.

i do my best when i do what God wants me to do, in words and actions.

i do my best by challenging the way i did things yesterday.

i do my best when i’m part of the solution instead of the problem. W.  Edwards Deming said, “It  is not enough to do your best, you must know what to do, and then do your  best.”

i do my best by expecting nothing less than my best.

i do my best by giving away the credit (especially if i crave it).

i do my best by practicing my gifts so i become skilled in using them. Daniel Defoe says, “The soul is placed in the body like a rough diamond, and must be polished, or the luster of it will never appear”

i do my best by eliminating excuses and taking responsibility.

i do my best by getting up when i’ve been knocked down.

i do my best by allowing my passion to see action. Maya Angelou says, “Nothing will work unless you do.”

i do my best by keeping my promises, to others and to myself.

i do my best by showing integrity.

i do my best by delivering more than what was expect.

i do my best by making time to refresh and refill my inner spirit.

i do my best by having a strong foundation in the Word. Albert Einstein said, “There are two ways to live your life – one is as though nothing is a miracle, the other is as though everything is a miracle.”

i do my best by training my mind like a pro athlete. Thomas Edison said, “If we did all the things we are capable of doing,
we would literally astound ourselves.”

i do my best by doing tasks that make a difference and inspire others to do the same. Norman Vincent Peale says, “If you have zest and enthusiasm you attract zest and enthusiasm. Life does give back in kind.”

i do my best by serving others even when it’s at great cost to me.

In closing… i have to let go of  some GOOD things in order to choose others that are BETTER, then i have to let go of some BETTER things for the BEST, because the BEST, my BEST, develops faith in God.

Leave a Reply

