Destiny Dice…?

Posted: November 22, 2013 in Podcasts, Wandering Thoughts

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK TO LISTEN.

i want answers! When i can’t find them for myself i begin searching.

i shared yesterday about “The Book of Answers” and today i’m continuing in that same vein. At the same time that i bought the book, i also found another option for people. This option is called “Destiny Dice.” You heard me right, “Destiny Dice.” i think the name explains the purpose. Remember i found these things while trying to figure out why people wouldn’t want the best thing i had to offer them, which was the Word. Now i had three options in my arsenal. You might say i have some version of Good, Better, and Best. Best being the Word of God.

The Book of Answers offered a quick and easy way to get an answer but both the publisher and the author made it clear that they accepted no responsibility for the advice offered nor the results or lack of.

With “Destiny Dice” you just give them a throw and then read what comes up and act accordingly. Do i really want to leave my destiny up to a roll of the dice? So if people don’t want the word which is the best I have they can choose between the “Book of Answers” or a roll of the “Destiny Dice”. I think this plays out in these posts. i find that i get many more comments and likes when i do the light easy stuff, the socially acceptable, the sounds like fun, verse just sharing the truth word as it is unveiled to me.

In the book Sacred Romance, it says that the problem with most of us is that we live our lives like a movie that we’ve arrived at twenty minutes late. The action is well under way and we haven’t a clue what’s happening.

The questions flood in, Who are these people? Who are the good guys and who are the bad guys? Why are they doing that? What’s going on? It’s so annoying when people come in that have been in the church for years or more importantly in relationship with God and yet have no clue. i know that my task is to get over it just as God does with me, because truth be told, in God’s big picture i have no clue, yet, He still speaks to me, teaches me and meets me right where i am.

How many times is my identity defined in my circumstances. Sometimes those circumstances are terrible and other times they are wonderful. Those two things, terrible and wonderful compete for my attention, my emotions and my feelings. i used to live with an expectation of one or the other. If i’m happy and things are going well i’m waiting for the other shoe to drop.

In both of these options i am allowing for my situations and my circumstances to be explanations or interpretations of who i am and where i’m going. But the truth is, they are just reference points.     

i am finding out that there’s a story that is bigger than i have, or could imagine. It’s bigger than my life and no pat answer book or rolling a pair of dice is going to help me experience the Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

If i’m looking how to be a success, how to be a better speaker, how to write the next best seller, how to win friends and influence people, i can find that in anyone of thousands of books. If i’m willing to roll the dice and take a chance i may actually win once in a while. But if i’m looking for a witness to my life, there is only one place that will provide it with a lasting, fulfilling eternal certainty. God has promised to care about everything, my so called good things, my so called bad things, my so called terrible things and my so called mundane things. All of it, all the time, every day. He says that my life will not go unnoticed because He will notice it. He says my life will not go unwitnessed because He will witness it.

Comments
  1. Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this article reminds me
    of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this.

    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great
    read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  2. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you
    really recognise what you’re talking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly also consult with my web site =). We could have a link alternate
    agreement between us

Leave a Reply

