Hello My Name Is… Closing Words For 2013!

Posted: December 31, 2013 in Podcasts, Wandering Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

Please listen to this song prior to reading or listening! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuJWQzjfU3o

Name TagThis post is what i will be sharing tonight at the Onething Campus New years Eve Celebration in conjunction with several others.

2 Corinthians 10:4-5 says, “For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.”

In other words I am not fighting a physical battle but a spiritual one. It is a battle in my thoughts, a battle for my mind.

The devil is like a computer hacker trying to plant a virus in my mind. He is looking for the right password to gain access. So what’s your password? Sex, party, alcohol, pride, unforgiveness? How about cancer, financial lack, dissatisfaction?

1 Peter 1:17 commands each of us to gird up the loins of our mind. In Biblical times, men wore long robes and when they entered battle, they would tie them up so they would not interfere with movement.

Left alone, my mind goes in all directions, all kinds of thoughts. I need to gird my mind to keep it on the right path. I need… no I must learn to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.

It’s called focus.

Where does it all begin? In culture today little emphasis is given to the meaning of a name give a child. In Biblical times a name was considered a predictor of character and destiny: Elijah (My God is Yahweh.), and Jesus (The Lord is Salvation.).

Many times names were changed in the Bible showing a new destiny.

  • Abram      (Noble Father) becomes Abraham (Father of Many Nations)
  • Sarai      (Princess) becomes Sarah (Mother of Nations)
  • Simon      (Like a reed) became Peter (The Rock)

Just maybe God wanted people to rise to new heights of effectiveness as a result of such name changes. For us today, our name – that of  “Christians” – means “to be Christ like.” We are called to live like Christ, to demonstrate His love, grace, peace, joy and forgiveness to a world that has lost its way and has no vision of its destiny.

So who am I? Some would describe themselves as, “I am a failure.”, “I am a mistake.”, “I am an addict.” or “I am rejected.” Maybe the devil is more subtle and has convinced us, “I am a carpenter/ nurse/ engineer/ homemaker.” But that is not where my value lies.

In Isaiah 14:12-17, we learn that the devil’s downfall was his pride, his desire to be equal to God, a “high thing that exalted itself against the knowledge of God”. Let’s not let the same thing happen to us. We combat it by knowing who we are in Christ:

  • I am loved. Romans 8:14 I am a son of God. Colossians 1:13-14 I am rescued from Satan’s kingdom.
  • I am forgiven. Romans 5:1 I have been justified and have peace with God. Romans 8:1 I am free of condemnation in Christ.
  • I am valuable. Romans 8:17 I am an heir of God and a joint-heir with Christ. Ephesians 2:10 I am His handiwork.
  • I am victorious. Romans 8:37 I am more than a conqueror. 1 John 5:4-5 In Christ I have overcome the world.
  • I am complete. 2 Corinthians 5:17 I am a new creation in Christ. The old things have passed away. All things have become new. Ephesians 1:3 I am blessed with every spiritual blessing in Christ.
  • I am chosen. 2 Timothy 1:9 I have a holy calling. 2 Corinthians 5:18-19 I am a minister of reconciliation between God and those I contact.

Jesus knew who He was. He declared, “I am the bread of life.” (John 6:35) “I am the light of the world.” (John 8:12) “I am the good shepherd.” (John 10:11) “I am the way, and the truth, and the life.” (John 14:6)

He walked this earth with a confidence and strength that come from that knowledge. We can have the same confidence when we have learned what the Word tells us of who we are and then… we walk in it.

The Message puts it this way, “The tools of our trade aren’t for marketing or manipulation, but they are for demolishing that entire massively corrupt culture. We use our powerful God-tools for smashing warped philosophies, tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God, fitting every loose thought and emotion and impulse into the structure of life shaped by Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:4-5)

In Revelations 2:17, Jesus promises each of us a white stone with a name change, a new destiny. What name is on your stone? Redeemed. New Creation. Forgiven. In Christ. Child of the One True King.

Leave a Reply

