Talking To Myself… Awareness!

Posted: January 10, 2014 in Talking To Myself...
Tags: , , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

Lisa M. Hayes said, “Be careful how you are talking to yourself because you are listening.”

Self awareness is something that i work on constantly yet, as i’m finding out recently, i miss things that seem trivial but are actually important. i have worked hard to not verbalize every thought that comes to my mind, yet done very little, no… actually nothing to be aware of the impact of the thoughts that i speak to myself. About 3 months ago i was intrigued by the words of Bill Johnson when he said that as a disciple of Christ i am not allowed to say anything about myself that God would not say. It was powerful, but now i’m finding an even deeper meaning to those words, my self-awareness regarding my conversations with myself is being stirred up.

The issue with talking to myself is that it is constant, it’s never-ending and thus i am not usually aware i’m doing it let alone what i saying. Now that i’m becoming aware of this i am also becoming aware of how it’s affected by my emotions and how it also affects how i feel about myself and life in general. See, my emotions are wired directly to my thoughts. Paul wrote in Romans, “The mind that is set on the flesh is death, but the mind that is set on the Spirit is life and peace.

Years ago i remember a book by Joyce Meyers called “Battle Field of the Mind.” It didn’t mean much to me then but today, well i am very much aware of the battle and the battlefield which currently is taking place in my mind. So what have i learned to help me win these battles? Notice i said “these battles” and not this battle. If it were only a single battle to be fought and won. i could deal with that, knowing that winning would put an end to it. But no, it’s a never-ending battle. It is life and thus until i am raptured and removed from the battle i will have to fight.

As i see it, my chance of winning or at least holding my ground is found in Ephesians 6:11-13 where it instructs me to “Put on the full armor of God so that i can take my stand against the devil’s schemes. For my struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” It says, ed, “put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground and after you have done everything, to stand.”

My mind can be my greatest enemy and again as i said, i have worked, no fought hard on controlling my tongue… but that’s not enough. 2 Corinthians 10:5 says, “[Inasmuch as we] refute arguments and theories and reasonings and every proud and lofty thing that sets itself up against the [true] knowledge of God; and we lead every thought and purpose away captive into the obedience of Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One),”

So what is one to do with this never-ending bombardment of thoughts and the ensuing self conversation regarding them. When i become aware that i am feeling negative or overwhelmed, i pause and pay attention to what i’m saying to myself at that moment.

Ask, am i building myself up in the truth of the word or tearing myself down with the circumstances of life? It’s truth that sets the captive free.

Ask, what am i believing about God, myself and others? Is God enough or not? Does God love me or not? Does God value me or not?

Ask, is what i’m talking to myself about serving my best interest? Is it bringing me peace or stirring up turmoil, doubt and fear?

Ask, how’s this conversation working for me? Am i winning the debate or losing?

Ask, how can i change my conversation to make it positive and encouraging ?

Most of my talking to myself is in regards to my circumstances, circumstances that i am not happy with, circumstances that i would rather just go away.

In closing, if i could just confine talking to myself to within the confines of these words of Napoleon Hill, “every adversity carries within it the seeds of an equivalent or greater benefit of success.”

Comments
  1. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

  2. You’re so interesting! I do not believe I’ve truly read
    through a single thing like this before. So wonderful to discover another person with original thoughts on this subject matter.
    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  3. Thanks in favor of sharing such a nice idea,
    piece of writing is good, thats why i have read it completely

  4. This paragraph provides clear idea in support of the new users of blogging, that
    in fact how to do running a blog.

  5. Good way of explaining, and good post to get facts
    on the topic of my presentation focus, which i am going to
    convey in academy.

  6. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes that produce the largest changes.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

