Talking To Myself… Errors Exposed!

Posted: January 13, 2014 in Podcasts, Talking To Myself...

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

Vincent van Gogh said, “If you hear a voice within you saying “you’re not a painter,” then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.”

This voice in my head applauds me for my victories but gives me what for when i screw up? That’s what i mean when i say talking to myself.

Savielly Tartakower said, “I talk to myself because I like dealing with a better class of people.

There are times when i make myself feel terrible even when my situation isn’t that bad. i simply think in a negative, self-defeating way. It’s as though there is someone in my head that has something to say about my every situation.

Sometimes talking to myself can lead to errors in my thinking.

Error #1 – Thinking in absolutes –

Seeing everything as being good or bad. Either i’m great, or i’m a loser, so if i do something wrong I do everything wrong.

my challenge is to avoid thinking about things in absolutes or extremes. Most things in my life are not as simple as black and white, they’re a rainbow of colors. Just because something isn’t perfect doesn’t mean it’s a waste.

Error #2 – Thinking the grass is greener on the other side –

Making unrealistic comparisons between myself and other people as though they always have the what i don’t. The people who i think live on the greener side may have a specific advantage in some area, but i may have the advantage in another. Thinking that the grass is greener on the other side can leave me feeling inadequate.

my challenge is to recognize and appreciate my own qualities and remember everyone has their own problems.

Error #3 – The glass is half empty –

Spending more time focusing on the negative aspects of my situation, and dismissing the positive ones.

my challenge is to realize there are always positives and negatives to every situation. A battery doesn’t work if it only has a negative pole or just a positive pole.

Error #4 – Everything is personal –

This is a big one for me. Feeling responsible for everything that goes wrong around me, even when it’s not my fault or responsibility.

my challenge is to step back and remember i’m not to blame for things outside my control. Not all situations are about me.

Error #5 – Guessing –

Trying to figure out what other people are thinking and assuming about me.

my challenge is that i can’t know what others are thinking, so trying to figure it out by guessing is a waste of time. i have my hands full being responsible for my own thoughts.

Error #6 – One step forward, two steps back –

Feeling like things are always headed for disaster and imagining that potential consequences will be worse than they are.

my challenge is to ask myself what’s the worst thing that can happen and what am i so afraid of.

Error #7 – Not worthy –

Letting my mind exaggerate the number of mistakes and failures in my daily life. Thinking everyone around me is judging me and more importantly that i am a disappointment to God.

my challenge is to hold on to truth and stick to the facts. Things will go wrong, but that’s not a sign that i’m an all-around failure. i didn’t fail, i just found one way that didn’t work.

Error #8 – The name game –

Calling myself or other people names. Instead of focusing on things that have gone wrong, i brand myself or other people with negative labels like “stupid” or “ugly”.

my challenge is to not think in those terms. Using labels on myself can break down my self-esteem.

Error #9 – Stinking thinking –

The question is not if things will go wrong but, when will something go wrong. It’s almost guaranteed that sometimes things will go wrong. i might have a picture in my mind of the way i want something or someone to be, but it doesn’t always work out that way.

The problem with stinking thinking is that it increases my frustration, and does nothing toward solving the problem.

my challenge is to avoid getting upset in situations by learning to think flexibly. This means learning to prefer things to be a certain way, but accepting that this won’t always be the reality.

Let me close today with this thought. my inner speech, my thoughts, can cause me to be rich or poor, loved or unloved, happy or unhappy, attractive or unattractive, powerful or weak. It’s important to be aware of my words while talking to myself.

Comments
  1. ldipascal says:

    Great post, Ed.

    Today on TBN at 12:30 EST, there will be a 30 minute show you may be interested in watching, since you’re writing this series. The host is Dr. Carolyn Leaf and she’s a neurophysicist and has studied the brain for over 25+ years. She’s also a Christian so her lectures are loaded with scripture. She explains the connection between our thought life (mind) and how it effects our brain/body. I’Ve read a couple of her books and watches several videos on youtube. You may glean some great insights and good content for your next post. Again, it’s on today at 12:30pm. The series runs for 13 weeks and it started last week. Leah 🙂

    From: me and I Am’s Blog Reply-To: me and I Am’s Blog Date: Monday, January 13, 2014 10:19 PM To: LEAH DIPASCAL Subject: [New post] Talking To Myself Errors Exposed!

    WordPress.com meandiam posted: “PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN. Vincent van Gogh said, “If you hear a voice within you saying “you’re not a painter,” then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.” This voice in my head applauds me for my victories bu”

Leave a Reply

