Talking To Myself… Strongholds Identified!

Posted: January 18, 2014 in Podcasts, Talking To Myself...
Tags: , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

It seems as though i have hit upon a topic of interest regarding “talking to myself” and where that can lead to. Yesterday i shared about an obsticale to renewing my mind called strongholds.

Is it possible for me to be blind and not know it? To be miserably poor and believe otherwise? To think in all honesty that i am dressed and to walk around naked? Yes, it is entirely possible. It happens every day. Where? In the lives of believers and in the church. In fact, the problem is so serious that the Jesus Himself sent a letter to a particular church, confronting it.

The letter is recorded in Revelation 3:14-22, “Write to Laodicea, to the Angel of the church. God’s Yes, the Faithful and Accurate Witness, the First of God’s creation, says: “I know you inside and out, and find little to my liking. You’re not cold, you’re not hot—far better to be either cold or hot! You’re stale. You’re stagnant. You make me want to vomit. You brag, ‘I’m rich, I’ve got it made, I need nothing from anyone,’ oblivious that in fact you’re a pitiful, blind beggar, threadbare and homeless. “Here’s what I want you to do: Buy your gold from me, gold that’s been through the refiner’s fire. Then you’ll be rich. Buy your clothes from me, clothes designed in Heaven. You’ve gone around half-naked long enough. And buy medicine for your eyes from me so you can see, really see. The people I love, I call to account—prod and correct and guide so that they’ll live at their best. Up on your feet, then! About face! Run after God! Look at me. I stand at the door. I knock. If you hear me call and open the door, I’ll come right in and sit down to supper with you. Conquerors will sit alongside me at the head table, just as I, having conquered, took the place of honor at the side of my Father. That’s my gift to the conquerors! Are your ears awake? Listen. Listen to the Wind Words, the Spirit blowing through the churches.”

The situation was so serious that Jesus told them, “You think you have gathered in My name, but I have been left out” (Rev. 3:20).

Revelation 12:11, holds the answer or the directions for me to be victorious over strongholds and the enemy. “And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, and they did not love their lives to the death.” Three elements… the blood of the Lamb, my testimony and my willingness to die. Two of the three are variable while one is absolute and constant. The blood of the lamb is the constant because it represents the perfect sacrifice. But, my testimony and my willingness to die for Jesus, if necessary, is very much subject to change. This is where the enemy, the accuser, targets his attack.

The enemy has three main weapons. The big one and most obvious is sin. In Matthew 4:3 Satan is exposed as the tempter. “And the tempter came and said to Him, If You are God’s Son, command these stones to be made [loaves of] bread.” The enemy has an expertise with which he uses this particular weapon. Sin is an active weapon. It’s like a heat seeking, guided missile, it finds me. When it hits me, i know it immediately. Romans 6:23 “For the wages which sin pays is death…”

The second weapon is a passive one. Like a trap, it’s set for me to fall into. It is called “accusations.” In Revelation 12:10 the enemy is identified. “…for the accuser of our brethren, he who keeps bringing before our God charges against them day and night, has been cast out! Day and night, before the throne of God. That strikes me…, if he has the courage to do that before God, imagine what is he capable of doing to me. In spite of being forgiven, he reminds me of every sin i have committed, and then, for effect, he adds every other sin i could have committed. Hebrews 13:5 promises me that, “…He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you” (Heb. 13:5, NIV), he uses the problems and challenges i face every day as a weapon to blind me to the absoluteness of that promise. “God has left you,” he screams in my ear.

For the most part i have been aware of these two weapons. Adequate Bible teaching helps me to deal with their effect and gives me some direction as to how I can defend against them. The fact that the consequences suffered by me are visible—death and spiritual paralysis—acts as a motivator for me to seek help.

In the next post and podcast i’ll share about the third and most dangerous weapon of the enemy.

Comments
  1. Can you tell us more about this? I’d care to find out some additional information.

  2. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with
    the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize
    it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this
    one nowadays.

  3. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning
    this site. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content from you
    in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has
    encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

