Talking To Myself… Reviewed!

Posted: January 22, 2014 in Podcasts, Talking To Myself...
PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.
Albert Einstein said, “We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.”

So i figured that it would be a good idea to use the three tools i suggested in yesterday’s post and then share today how that worked for me. Well i’ll let you be the judge.

The first thing i found out in being aware was that it made no difference whether i was sitting, standing or laying down. There was also no noticeable effect determined by whether i was walking, pacing, running or motionless. There was no noticeable variation between morning, afternoon, evening or night. Regardless of any of the above my mind was fully capable of engaging on a number of subjects.

As for goals, well let me share a few of them. First i wrote a thank you letter to someone who has blessed me for the past year as they provided thousands of dollars in labor and material for my dental work, something i’d been trying to do the entire time. i called about seven people just to see how they were doing and what God was doing in their lives. i emailed out scripture verses to a couple dozen people who i’d gotten for them while i was praying for them. i repaired the leak under our kitchen sink. i tore out the bathroom tile in our guest bathroom and removed the sink cabinet, mirror and lighting. i did not get to replace it, yet. i planned the entire catering menu for Onething Campus for the next 30 days. i laid out a complete financial plan and guidelines to accomplish what i wanted for the next 90 days. i arranged for Ann Marie and i to take a trip to Key West for a week. i determined a schedule of how to replace the carpet and tile in our home and replace it with wood flooring. Some heavy pieces of furniture to maneuver so timing is crucial. i found a new position of employment and spent some time planning the best way to begin that. i found someone to trade my sprint iphone 4s for one that i could use on my tmobile service and was able to give it to my grandson for his 13th birthday tomorrow. Then there were probably six to twelve other things that i disregarded.

So, sounds pretty productive right? Impressive as well, right? NOT! You see, all of that was talking to myself, self talk, mind chatter, whatever i want to call it. They say the poof is in the pudding so we’ll just see how many of my goals become reality today as my awareness is on high alert. Yesterday i shared about over-thinking things to the point of not actually getting anything done and here i am as the proof in my pudding.

In closing let me share the thoughts of some well-known men.

Abraham Lincoln – “When I am getting ready to reason with a man, I spend one-third of my time thinking about myself and what I am going to say and two-thirds about him and what he is going to say.”

George Carlin – I was thinking about how people seem to read the Bible a whole lot more as they get older; then it dawned on me – they’re cramming for their final exam.
Winston Churchill – Let our advance worrying become advance thinking and planning.
Lastly, C. S. Lewis – Part of every misery is, so to speak, the misery’s shadow or reflection: the fact that you don’t merely suffer but have to keep on thinking about the fact that you suffer. I not only live each endless day in grief, but live each day thinking about living each day in grief.
Comments
  1. ldipascal says:

    Ed, I was getting ready to call Ann Marie to hear about your upcoming trip to Key Westuntil I got to the end of your post. Clever 🙂 I’m thinking you should put it at the TOP of your goals list for 2014. I’m sure Ann Marie would totally agree with me.

    Leah

    From: me and I Am’s Blog Reply-To: me and I Am’s Blog Date: Wednesday, January 22, 2014 8:16 PM To: LEAH DIPASCAL Subject: [New post] Talking To Myself Reviewed!

    WordPress.com meandiam posted: “PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN. Albert Einstein said, “We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.” So i figured that it would be a good idea to use the three tools i suggested in yesterday’s p”

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  3. Hello! I simply want to offer you a huge thumbs up for your great info you
    have got here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your blog for more
    soon.

  4. Right here is the right blog for anybody who wants to find out about this
    topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not
    that I really would want to…HaHa). You definitely put
    a new spin on a subject that’s been written about for ages.

    Great stuff, just great!

  5. What’s up, I wish for to subscribe for this blog
    to obtain newest updates, so where can i do it please help.

Leave a Reply

