Let’s Go Fly A Kite… It’s Necessary!

Posted: February 3, 2014 in Let's Go Fly A Kite...!, Podcasts
Tags: , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

HeavyI’m opening with a line from the television show Seinfeld. It’s a conversation between George and Kramer. “Why would I spend seven dollars to see a movie I could watch at home?” “Well why go to a fine restaurant when you could just stick something in the microwave… Why go to the park and fly a kite when you could just pop a pill?”

I shared that because it illustrates the stinking thinking that is often used with regards to our lives. First of there are two off the cuff reasons for paying seven dollars and seeing a movie verses seeing it at home. The first is being current. Paying the seven dollars puts you in the now and for me it usually is something significant regarding my life now that I walk away with, such as in the case of The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty and Saving Mr. Banks. Secondly there is nothing like seeing a good movie on the BIG SCREEN. As for going to a fine restaurant verses a microwave meal…. there’s just no accounting for taste. And than going to the park and flying a kite verses popping a pill… I don’t even know where to start. Popping a pill may seem like the easy way but long-term there is a great danger lurking. Flying a kite may be a little work but the rewards are lasting and care only beneficial results for those willing to make the effort.

Let’s Go Fly A Kite… An Extension Of me! This little chorus has been popping up in my head continuously and I have been able to share it with several who let me know that it sticks with them as well. It’s a mind changer… and we all know change your mind and everything changes.

Oh, oh, oh!
Let’s go fly a kite
Up to the highest height!
Let’s go fly a kite and send it soaring
Up through the atmosphere
Up where the air is clear
Let’s go fly a kite!

The Banks Family had believed they would not cope without Mary Poppins.  But she never leaves a family until they are capable of drawing on their own resources.

Now I’m not suggesting that God is Mary Poppins but this fictional story certainly correlates with how my life is affected by the presence of God, in a much greater way of course. Philippians 2:13 (AMP) says, [Not in your own strength] for it is God Who is all the while effectually at work in you [energizing and creating in you the power and desire], both to will and to work for His good pleasure and satisfaction and delight.

The sky is big enough for EVERYONE! Because God created it that way.

God is big enough for EVERYONE! Because God created me that way.

i’m finding out that kite flying is a pretty serious deal for some. There’s actually a Kite Flying Society. Perhaps it’s like the Christian Society? No matter for my purpose today. But, there is a right way and a wrong way to fly a kite and like everything else if I’m going to do it I want to do it right. So, i’m going to share the correct way to fly a kite and then put portions of it into the perspective of “Flying A Kite” as an extension of me and my relationship with God which changes my perspective about everything.

Pick my kite. There are quite a few varieties to choose from and you can even make your own. The standard shapes are easiest to fly, but if you’re looking for a challenge, go bigger and fancier.

Pick my God. Yep, i just wrote that. According to many there are quite a few varieties to choose from and some even make their own. As for me Isaiah 45:5-6 says it all, “I am the LORD, and there is no other; Besides Me there is no God. I will gird you, though you have not known Me; That men may know from the rising to the setting of the sun That there is no one besides Me.I am the LORD, and there is no other,”

This is one of those areas where if i offend someone, so be it . For me there is only one God and He is in no way standard, nor the easiest to understand, but i’m up for the challenge and there is no God bigger or fancier than my God.

Pick the right day. If there’s a definite breeze but you don’t feel bowled over, it’s time to head for the kite-flying hills. The last thing you want to do is go out, spending hours just holding on. With a nice breeze, you can make your kite dance and soar and maybe even loops and tricks.

Pick the right day. Oswald Chambers said, “Many enter the chamber (garden) to meet God while they are still emotionally out of breath. Silence and solitude, listening to God and meditation all take time………….. time some are not willing to give.” Behind the wheel of the car is not going to get my kite off the ground. There’s no way i’m going to soar to the highest height while weaving in and out of traffic. If i begin out of breath there’s no way i’ll dance, soar, experience His presence and maybe a healing.

Comments
  1. Wow, fantastic blog structure! How long have you been running a
    blog for? you make running a blog look easy.
    The overall glance of your site is wonderful, as neatly as the content!

  2. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more about this topic, it might not be
    a taboo subject but generally people do not discuss these issues.

    To the next! Best wishes!!

  3. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future
    but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. It’s wonderful that you are getting thoughts from this piece of
    writing as well as from our dialogue made at this
    place.

  5. I go to see each day a few web sites and websites to read content, except this weblog presents feature based posts.

Leave a Reply

