Who Is “me”… Going In For A Deeper Look!

Posted: February 28, 2014 in Podcasts, Who Is "me"...?
Tags: , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

Continuing with the  exploration of my personality, or the question, Who Is “me”,  i’m going to share about what the world calls “Fight, Flight, Flee.” It deals with the way i respond to situations and circumstances that occur in my everyday life. i’m going to be coming from a different perspective than what the counselors of the world are. Before i go there i need to establish a spiritual foundation which i will build on through-out this series.

1 Corinthians 10:13 says, “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” i can hear the “BUT ed!” i know, i know, i know…!

This is where i perceive that being an “All or Nothing” person could possible serve me well as, No Temptation would overtake me. Regardless of…!!

NO means NOT ANY temptation. Temptation is defined as something that tempts, entices, or allures. For my purpose in this series i’m referring to temptation as anything that tempts, entices or allures me away from believing that God is faithful as the verse goes on to say. Tempted, enticed or allured away from knowing that God will not allow me to be tempted beyond what i am are able. Tempted, enticed or allured from knowing that God, with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that i may be able to bear it. i know “BUT ed!!”

While the world uses Cognitive Therapy to help people change their thinking patterns James 1:5-8, says, “If i don’t know what i’m doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. i’ll get His help, and won’t be condescended to when i ask for it. Ask boldly, believing, without a second thought. People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves. Don’t think you’re going to get anything from the Master that way, adrift at sea, keeping all your options open.”

When i’m in that place of emptiness, seemingly lost, without hope, a place where i don’t know what i’m doing i am to ask BOLDLY, BELIEVING, WITHOUT A SECOND THOUGHT. What am i believing… first that no test or temptation that comes my way is beyond the course of what others have had to face. second, to remember  that God will never let me down, third, that he’ll never let me be pushed past my limit, and last but not least, he’ll always be there to help me come through it. There it is again “BUT ed!” “You don’t know my situation, you don’t have to deal with my husband, my wife, my kids, my job, my finances, etc., etc., etc.” i get it, been there and done that. How am i to believe that God is faithful when i feel so alone, so hopeless, so tired? Here’s the simple answer. God’s word is Truth or it’s not, it’s a lie and not just this part of it but all of it. This is not a results based answer, it’s not an issue of resolving my mind, it’s a heart issue!

So let me get into more detail about each response type and along the way share stories about some of God’s chosen people and how they responded to their situations. Ultimately i’ll share about an option that doesn’t currently exist in the counseling of people who are controlled by these responses, supposedly for the rest of their lives. Yes modified and handled better, but i’m talking about being free… completely free in every sense of the word. It just occurred to me how well this goes along with “Let’s Go Fly A Kite.”

Oh in case you’re wondering why i would start a series like this on a Friday… Because it gives me the weekend to ponder the verses in this post and absorb them.

Leave a Reply

